License Plate Slogans as Short-Cut Philosophy: Is Life So Simple?

I pulled my car up to a stop light behind a person whose license plate had the slogan, “Respect Life”. I had to think about that. Does that person, who paid a premium for that plate in order to display that sentiment to me as a command to me to respect life, himself or herself truly practice and obey that order? Does he swat flies, set traps for mice and squash a mosquito on his arm?

The personification of respect for life was Dr. Albert Schweizer. He spent a long time in a jungle in Africa ministering to the medical needs of native Africans. He suffered when stepping on an ant his “reverence for life” went to such lengths. And he wrote the book on it in his service.

Well, of course, I know what that sentiment refers to, the issue of abortion. But I had to think further about that license plate philosophy, and all bumper sticker beliefs, short, concise summaries of difficult issues. Rather convenient ways to think for the narrow minded, if the bearers test out in discussion to be short-sighted. I was just wondering.

7 Comments

  1. I am not sure how you took a boring informative article and managed to make it so interesting, but I am glad you did. What a pleasure to find such an interesting new talented author.

  2. Great content like this isn’t easy to find online. You have given the world a wonderful article with many good points to consider. I agree with a lot of your views and enjoyed this article.

  3. My personal opinion is that this article is terrific. I agree with much of the information you’ve provided and I’m interested in reading more articles written by you. Good job!

  4. The ideas in this article have given a thoughtful meaning to this subject matter. They are not superficial, but thought out and presented very well.

  5. You have presented interesting and valid points that are thought-provoking in my opinion. I’m glad to see a writer care so much about writing good content. I agree with this. Your work is most impressive.

  6. Your article is smokin’! You’ve done a great job with making this clear. I agree with a lot of the stuff in this article. You are a really good writer.

  7. Very interesting and useful information, thanks!


Comments are closed.