Sam Harris’s Letter to a Christian Nation

In the book’s every paragraph, ammunition for the firing squad made up of all unbelievers, and a volley of withering fire to the body, head and heart of every Christian true-believer. (That’s a metaphor, son.) The davastation will all be in the mind and spirit of the true-believer evangelicals. Read it if you dare, Christian: Sam Harris, Letter to a Christian Nation ( A small, short book, a quick read. N.Y.: Alfred A. Knopf, 2006. 91pp. $6.95)Can you imagine their disgust? Take away their salvation candy and eerie raptures, what remains? If they replace that with a pause between stimulus and response for the intellectual functions of deliberative thought, like reading that book, our body politic might generate citizens more capable of producing better leaders, an end to dysfunctional hypocrites, and people more attuned to the demands of a world growing in complexity. The writings of ancient “holy” men should not be elevated above our more informed contemporaries. READ THE BOOK!

I read it with a pbs video in mind, about black holes in the universe. Stand the devout Christian up next to the science that is generating that awsome view of the universe—my oh my, what a stark contrast between their 6,000 years and the astrophysicist’s 5,000 million years since the “big bang”, with 3,000 million years remaining to continue human evolution, before the “big crunch”. (Hawking) Just “a two seconds ago” (in time relative to the Earth’s age) the Catholic Church declared the Earth not flat.

Published in: on November 6, 2006 at 3:26 pm  Comments (23)  

23 Comments

  1. Your article is excellent. Your writing style and solid information is interesting and smart. I agree with a lot of your views. Thank you for your dedication to quality content.

  2. I am an avid reader of this type of article, and have never seen one written this way. It was very succinct and to the point, yet engaging and entertaining.

  3. I’m not quite sure where to begin with this, so I’ll just say this is a really good article. I’ve enjoyed reading it and pondering the many points you make.

  4. I recently read some articles that were so dull and off center that I couldn’t abide finishing them. Your article is not one of those articles. I like your content.

  5. I really feel you’ve made sound and unique points that are highly relatable to your readers. Your article has made a big difference in how I think about this subject.

  6. This is a great article. It’s not only well-written, it’s interesting and you have expressed your views beautifully. You have struck gold with this content.

  7. One of the more impressive blogs Ive seen. Thanks so much for keeping the internet classy for a change. Youve got style, class, bravado. I mean it. Please keep it up because without the internet is definitely lacking in intelligence.

  8. Your writing style is proof positive that a writer can clearly express his or her original thoughts without a lot of flashy content. This is smart, engaging and informative material.

  9. Your article is great! Your viewpoints are valid and well-represented. This is useful and interesting data that I can appreciate. You are obviously knowledgeable in this area. You kept this content smart and very engaging.

  10. I like this article a lot. I agree with much of what you state here and you have done a great job of writing it.

  11. This is amazing and awesome information. I enjoyed reading your strong points on this topic. Thank you for writing such great material. This is impressive.

  12. I can’t imagine how much research and planning went into this article. You have a great grasp of this subject and you make it understandable.

  13. Thank you for publishing such a great article for the world to see. I offer two thumbs up for this writing both for grammar and engaging material. I could only hope to write this well.

  14. I was beginning to wonder whether I was going to find good information on this subject. Thank goodness you’re here. I will bookmark this content.

  15. I would be interested in other articles you have written. Your views in this content has sparked my curiosity and I think a lot like you. I will keep coming back for more great information.

  16. Writers are a unique breed. You know when you’re reading content written by an expert, or at least a very intelligent writer. This article is virtually perfect in my opinion.

  17. You have mad writing skills! Your article is attention-grabbing, sharp, well-written and dead on accurate in my opinion. This is a prime example of real quality writing. This is great.

  18. I appreciate how well you have expressed your observations in this article. I agree with a lot of your material and think you are gifted.

  19. This is so great that I had to comment. I’m usually just a lurker, taking in knowledge and nodding my head in quiet approval at the good stuff…..this required written props. Theory rocks…thanks.

  20. You’ve taken alternating views and combined them into an interesting article. More articles on this subject need to be written by you as you appear to be astute and insightful.

  21. I like how you made this article so interesting. I think you are perceptive and talented. I can really appreciate your hard work and your views. Thank you for all this useful and fresh information.

  22. This is a great job on this article. Information like this should be shared. I’m impressed by your views and would love to see more of this content. Thank you for your intelligently written content.

  23. This is a superb piece, I found your weblog browsing google for a related theme and came to this. I couldnt come across to much additional information on this piece, so it was pleasant to locate this one. I will certainly end up being back again to check out some other posts that you have another time.


Comments are closed.

