Sen. Edward Kennedy: Super Wealthy, Super Privileged, but—

—there was a marvelous contradiction in him. Can you name it? All the commentators are bringing it up.

I once read a scholarly study comparing and contrasting Ted and Jack Kennedy with Richard M. Nixon. The scholarship, I observed at the time, was trustworthy in sources and the conclusions drawn seemed reasonable. The study raised this question. Why would super-rich Kennedys appear so much on the record of speech and legislative action in support of the ordinary 40-hour-a-week worker, the “common man”? Minimum wages guarantee. Unions. Safe work conditions. Health care for all. And so on. Why would Richard Nixon arise from the worker class of ordinary people and claw his way to the top, without much special care for those on the lower rungs of the ladder, never looking back to help those below as he climbed to the top and affiliate himself with the party of the getting and conservation of wealth? Why was the former a liberal (Democrat) and the latter a conservative (Republican)? The Kennedys and Nixon. Different beginnings. A reversal of expected outcomes.

What was the difference? What makes a class of “haves” sure to, or not to, remember the plight of those less favored, or privileged? You may have guessed it. It’s the sure sense of an ideal self, called conscience. Wanting to spread the conditions providing opportunity through native intelligence and work ethic. The ideal self and the internal narrative empathizing the narrative of others underlying the concept of the ideal self is inculcated early in life, taught by a parental model that is permissive, rather than harsh, instructive, rather than preachy, loving, rather than stern, empathic, rather than apathetic.

Praise, or, at best, begrudging recognition for Ted Kennedy may not be coming from the nouveaux riches who have not developed that conscience in the ideal way.

One more thing. I think there are wealthy, and then there are wealthy. All wealthy people are not alike. It might be the difference between being born into wealth, that is, having wealth “thrust” on you, and having to earn the wealth, picking yourself up by your own bootstraps. The latter may feel, without ever expressing it, that, “I did it! Nothing stopping everyone else. I have no special care for those who don’t do it. It’s their own fault.”

The former has it from the start and may feel, without ever expressing it, that “I got it the easy way, and I have an obligation to do what I can to help the less fortunate having rough times getting ahead.”

There may be other classes of the wealthy, but I see those two as the most prominent. What do you think?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2009/08/26/sen-edward-kennedy-super-wealthy-super-privileged-but%e2%80%a6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

47 Comments

  1. Google

    Here are a few of the internet sites we advocate for our visitors.

  2. Google

    Sites of interest we have a link to.

  3. Google

    Here are some hyperlinks to internet sites that we link to since we consider they are worth visiting.

  4. This is five star material you’ve written here. It’s attention-grabbing, beneficial and informative content you just don’t see often these days. Thanks for sharing it.

  5. There are several valid points here with which I agree. I will have think about some of them, but that’s why I like this article.

  6. Quality content like this is just what I like to find and read when I am searching for online reading material. You’ve done great work.

  7. I like it! I like it a lot. You know exactly what youre talking about, exactly where other people are coming from on this issue. Im glad that I had the fortune to stumble across your blog. Its definitely an important issue that not enough people are talking about and Im glad that I got the chance to see all the angles.

  8. I really enjoyed reading your thoughts in this article. I think your material is of great quality and it’s engaging and smart. You’re really good.

  9. The information given in the quality article is dead on awesome. After hours of searching, this information was right on the mark and very interesting.

  10. You have actually created some excellent points here. I specifically appreciate the way you’ve been able to stick so much thought into a relatively short post (comparitively) which creates it an thoughtful publish on your subject. In my opinion, you’ve presented the topic in a quite thorough yet concise manner, that is genuinely useful when someone wants to get the facts without spending too a lot time searching the Internet and sifting out the noise to discover the answers to their questions. I usually get so frustrated with so numerous in the final results inside the major SE’s due to the fact they normally seem to mostly be filled with filler content that often isn’t extremely sensible. If you don’t mind I’m going to add this post and your blog to my delicious favorites so I can share it with my family. I appear forward to coming back to read your future posts as well.

  11. I like how you’ve utilized this information. It’s engaging content. I share many of your viewpoints and can easily grasp what you’re trying to say.

  12. It’s apparent you are dedicated to excellent writing. I truly related to the main points mentioned in this writing. This is really great original information.

  13. Thank you for writing this article in your own unique way. I’ve been hoping to find clear information like this. You really helped clear up a lot of my confusion.

  14. Anyone that wants to read content with solid information will want to read this article. I like how the points are stated. I share these views as well and I enjoyed this content. Thank you.

  15. Reading online content is sort of a hobby of mine. I came across your article and was intrigued by it. I like how you express your viewpoints and make sense.

  16. I love it when I can tell a writer has put forth a lot of effort for their content. I’m really glad I read this.

  17. Your informational article is very informative, but also interesting and unique. Your views on this topic give readers options to agree or disagree. I agree.

  18. You have done a great job on this article. It’s very readable and highly intelligent. You have even managed to make it understandable and easy to read. You have some real writing talent. Thank you.

  19. Marvelous details, thank you to the creator.

  20. You must be very astute at research and writing. This shows up in your original and unique content. I agree with your primary points on this topic. This content should be seen by more readers.

  21. I recently read some articles that were so dull and off center that I couldn’t abide finishing them. Your article is not one of those articles. I like your content.

  22. I am the type of person to show appreciation for good writing when it’s deserved. You deserve to know what a great writer you are.

  23. I have a hard time reading some articles, mostly because they’re dull. You have written an article that I find fascinating and I am glad I read it. I hope you have plans to continue.

  24. I am amazed at the detail and quality you put into this article. Keep up the good work on this topic and continue to write content like this! Thank you.

  25. This is quality writing. It’s been a while since I’ve read such good material. This writer has it going on in writing style and perceptions.

  26. I hope you always write because you do a great job with informational articles. Your use of solid content with original views is impressive. Thank you for your dedication to your readers and good writing.

  27. I’m not often moved by informational content, but yours really made me think about your viewpoints. You have offered valuable and sound thoughts that are logical and interesting. Thank you for sharing your fine work.

  28. This article is obliviously written by a talented writer who is perceptive and capable of giving the readers valuable information in a new and exciting way. I am extremely pleased.

  29. It’s good to see writing that is so good that you know the writer has done the homework on the subject. I am impressed with your insight and viewpoints on this topic. Thank a bunch.

  30. Found your web site and decided to use a fast read, not what a usually do but nice one. Nice to see a blog for any change that isn�t full of spam and rubbish, and in fact makes some sense. Anyway, wonderful write up.

  31. Writers are a unique breed. You know when you’re reading content written by an expert, or at least a very intelligent writer. This article is virtually perfect in my opinion.

  32. I am having a hard time fathoming how much research you had to do for this data, but I appreciate it and I agree. You make a lot of sense.

  33. I just read your article while waiting for my flight and I’m impressed with your content. You have several bold and original ideas that I can relate to and respect.

  34. Where else could I get this kind of information written in such an incite full way?

  35. I’m glad I found your article. I would never have made sense of this topic on my own. I’ve read a few other articles on this subject, but I was confused until I read yours.

  36. Simply put, this article is pure excellence! You’ve really put things into perspective for me. I am impressed with your writing style and abilities. Thank you for making this content easy to understand and interesting.

  37. The article you have written is brilliant. Your information is very well founded and presented in such a convincing way. I have read many articles on this subject, but by far, yours is the best.

  38. Thank you for sharing your vast knowledge on this subject. You’ve cleared some things up for me and given me reason to meditate on some of these views. I love reading great material like this.

  39. I loved reading this article. I feel you took aim and hit the target here. I am very impressed with your obvious demonstration of excellent writing skills and unique content. Thank you for writing this.

  40. I wanted to let you know how impressed I am with this content. You’ve cleared a lot up for many readers in this article. Thanks for all this great information.

  41. You have really made me think with this material. You’re writing style as well as your writing skill is excellent. I enjoyed reading your article and hope to read more.

  42. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is great blog. A great read. Ill definitely be back.

  43. It has been a very long time since we have seen anything written like this article. Obviously, creative and enthusiastic writing is not gone forever.

  44. I just had to show my appreciation for the writer’s point of view on this subject by leaving a comment. Thank you for writing such top notch content for your readers. Thank you so much.

  45. This is a wonderfully written article. You must have done a lot of research in this area. You have made this topic easy to read, interesting and easy to understand.

  46. As I sit here after reading your article, I could only wish to be able to produce such a well-written document as you. I am no where near your caliber.

  47. Great post


Comments are closed.

