An Incipient Revolution in Iran?

One segment of the Fareed Zakaria program, Sunday morning (12-20-09), showed a man who was protesting against the totalitarian regime in Iran. He began by dressing in the bourqua all women wear in the Islamic world as a requirement of that religion. I think such dress is mandatory to obliterate any manifestation of the female gender. Why is that extreme expression of “modesty” necessary? As I understand it, males will thereby be relieved of any arousal or excitation of male lust, and temptation will be averted. If a female lets down any screen of modesty, the male cannot be held responsible for the result of any immodesty by the the female. Any assault becomes justified. Do I have that correct? The burden is on the female to avoid tempting the male, who is naturally unable to resist the temptation. Right? That is what I understand. I have not read the Sharria law that supports that view.

Is there, could there be, any other use or cause for such a dress code?

Such male control is not expected nor required, so it seems to me to be the conclusion I may draw. In my culture, on the contrary, I am expected to be responsible for my acts, regardless of any extremity of stimulation. “She made me do it by her state of undress!” That will not fly where I live. I must personally control any tempting stimulus, no matter the source, sex, food, drink, media, family, neighbors, dress, language, insult, and so on. I suppose the source of really super-sin is sex.

Nevertheless, the Iranian man on the show, as a form of protest, started to dress in the habit prescribed for females in the culture of that world, identifyinmg himself with women’s plight. It was said that his captors forced him to put on the dress to “feminize” him as a form of humiliation, to destroy his manhood and hold him up to ridicule. His torture was another form of demeaning the feminine. Does that action exalt the male, feeding his dominance and superiority and exalted station in life (and you better not forget it!)? The man was a threat to Ahmadinijad.

However, this is the point where the revolution may come in. Other men took up the wearing of women’s habit. If this spreads in Iran, and possibly all over the world of Islam, the regime of Ahmadinijad will be threatened, and perhaps the whole tradition that suppresses the female and the feminine in Islamic culture might change.

I doubt the regime will allow that protest to continue without a violent repressive reaction.

Would it not be a great world phenomenon if “very male” figures, sports heroes, body builders, male models, artists, actors, professors, celebrities in all fields, were to don the habit to turn around the humiliation onto the tormentors of the female gender? There almost was a revolution in Iran not long ago with the fraudulent re-election of Ahmadinijad.

When I watched that program and saw that hint of that form of protest, my imagination took off. What a world-wide movement that would be!

Published in: on December 23, 2009 at 12:24 pm  Comments Off on An Incipient Revolution in Iran?