Prudence. Prudence Tested?

At every stop light, your prudence will be tested. Tested especially if you have someone riding shotgun with you, urging you on. To beat the yellow light. To make the left turn before the oncoming car gets here. All going against your individual sense of prudence. Aye, there’s the rub. You have been tested.

You must resist those urgings, if you value your own sense of what is safe and prudent. If you yield to the urgings that deny your own sense of what is correct, and right, then your prudence is questionable; you’ve failed the prudence test.

I once read a book (or article) by an eminent child psychologist, a Scotsman, a contribution that took that field by storm. In his observations of children at play, he documented the fact that older children urging younger children to do something will be the cause of more injuries to the younger. The younger child was being asked to do something beyond his ability but well within the capabilities of the older child. The younger children were not aware of their ineptitudes, behaviors requiring more maturity, maturation, experience or training, and at the moment needed “prudence” (discretion, right judgment, discernment) to resist the urgings that may come in the form of a dare, a challenge more like a threat. You know how kids do. And so it seems do “adults”.

The driving situation is a good, and crucial, spot to test your prudence. Can you resist urgings that would override your judgment? Or, do you have a developed prudence for safe driving.

Drinking?

Drugging?

Dating?

Dining?

Diving?

I have learned, since writing this, that more lethal accidents take place, killing teen-agers, when there are more than two of them riding in the car with the teen-age driver. The kids sort of “riot” in the car, fun loving. A recipe for disaster, and very, very often it will happen that they get carried away among themselves, and subsequently, by the ambulances and hearses. They become totally imprudent, and quite often fatally so, as demonstrated by the stats I saw announced on a television news show.

Published in: on April 5, 2010 at 11:28 am  Comments (42)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2010/04/05/prudence-prudence-tested/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

42 Comments

  1. Google

    Check beneath, are some completely unrelated sites to ours, nonetheless, they’re most trustworthy sources that we use.

  2. Google

    Here is a great Blog You might Locate Fascinating that we encourage you to visit.

  3. Google

    Very handful of web sites that take place to be comprehensive beneath, from our point of view are undoubtedly nicely worth checking out.

  4. Very valuable approach. You might consider doing guest blogging in our website my name is Erik Shen

  5. I really appreciate interesting articles like yours. This is very good content. Your points are represented with original writing and your content is well-written. Information like this is good to have for readers. Thank you.

  6. Every day time I’m a lot more impressed from your artical. Thanks for ones efforts inside expressing this particular theme. This is a popular feature. Cool. Love the opportunity to include stats pertaining to private information sites, too! I love everything in regards to this artical.

  7. I’m glad I came across your article today. Your information is thought-provoking, insightful and very interesting. It genuinely gave me a lot to think about on this subject. Thank you.

  8. I wanted to let you know how impressed I am with this content. You’ve cleared a lot up for many readers in this article. Thanks for all this great information.

  9. Any writer that takes the time to research a subject as thoroughly as you have deserves to be commended. This article is appealing and very well-written. The first two sentences encouraged me to read more.

  10. I hope you always write because you do a great job with informational articles. Your use of solid content with original views is impressive. Thank you for your dedication to your readers and good writing.

  11. It’s important to share original thoughts with today’s reader. Your article is a good example of how to make sound points and write interesting content. I agree with your views. Thank you for this article.

  12. You address truth issue on that topic. I think you handled it in a professional manner. Hope you will continue this way, with your brilliant ability of writing

  13. Your outlook on this subject has me rethinking my position. I am glad you shared this informative article. It’s helped me be more open-minded. You are a very persuasive writer.

  14. I really like to read an article that confirms there are writers that can get their point across without confusing their readers. You have done an excellent job with this.

  15. Your article is excellent. Your writing style and solid information is interesting and smart. I agree with a lot of your views. Thank you for your dedication to quality content.

  16. There are some valid points in this article. This is a great article with a new fresh perspective, easy to read, but also thought provoking.

  17. I must say you’re very skilled at writing if you can convince me of something like this. I’m truly impressed by your knowledge and writing abilities. Please keep up the good work. Thanks for sharing.

  18. I love keeping up to date on everything new so i�ll definitely be bookmarking this site.

  19. Normally I find this type of information dull and boring, but you turned that all around for me. This article takes you right in and won’t let go until you’re done reading the whole thing.

  20. I know when I’m reading quality content when I can’t stop. I got involved in this article and missed my lunch. It was worth it.

  21. You have managed to impress me with your interesting informational article. That’s no small feat. I share many of your same views that you’ve expressed very well in this content.

  22. This is a truly different informational article. It’s interesting and original and it really engages the reader. I love your take in this subject matter.

  23. It appears that you have put a good amount of effort into your blog and this world require more of these on the Internet these days. The both of us actually enjoyed your post. I do not have a great deal to say in reply, I just wanted to sign up to reply well done.I always learn something new from your post!

  24. I am glad to talk with you and you give me great help! Thanks for that, I am wonderring if i can contact you via email when i meet problems?

  25. Can you tell me how I can add your site in my news reader. your help would be helpful I really want to access your articles.

  26. This article is unique and informative. You captured my attention immediately with your viewpoints. I have to say I agree with a lot of your views. This is good reading.

  27. This is a great article. It’s not only well-written, it’s interesting and you have expressed your views beautifully. You have struck gold with this content.

  28. Thank you for your commitment to good writing. Your use of persuasive content impresses me. I like your views and concur many points. Please continue to put out great work.

  29. Your article has piqued a lot of positive interest. I can see why since you have done such a good job of making it interesting.

  30. I have turned into an online reader these days and have found it’s hard to find quality material. I’m glad I happened to find your article. I found this interesting and reasonable content. Thank you.

  31. This article is really impressive. You’ve come to some really great conclusions and made valid points on this subject. Thank you for writing great content. I hope to see more.

  32. It’s gratifying to see that your article confirms my viewpoint. I couldn’t have said this better myself. You’ve really gone above and beyond with this article. Thank you very much.

  33. Only a great writer can get their point across in words. You are such a writer and I appreciate this information more than you know.

  34. Typically, I find this type of information very dull, but you made it interesting to me. This took me in and made me really think about the things you wrote. I really like this article.

  35. The info you have offered here is valid and informative. You have apparently done a lot of research on the topic. Thanks for sharing it.

  36. I can’t match some of the great comments here, but I do know you’re a wonderful writer with a unique perspective. Thank you for sharing.

  37. I’m amazed at how interesting this article is, especially on this subject. You have hit the ball out of the ballpark with this. Thank you for making this content so easy to read and understand.

  38. Hi,I liked browsing your blog. Keep writing and I will recommend you to my friends.

  39. I am speechless as to how great this article is. The content is simple to understand and very engaging. This is by far some of the best content I’ve seen.

  40. This article is comprehensive in its data. I appreciate this having much information laid out in such a clear format. You have a knack for engaging and influencing your readers. Interesting content can be rare.

  41. […] is growing older, but not everyone will be old. To grow to be old requires PRUDENCE, something I have written about previously, as you may […]


Comments are closed.

