Are You an Intellectual?

You may be an intellectual (or anti-intellectual) if you have certain symptoms. To test the proposition of your intellectualship you must pass some simple tests.

First, look at your library. Do you have one? Does it contain a dictionary of 2662 pages? Does it have at least one thesaurus? Essential guides to writing? Foreign language dictionaries? A classical dictionary and at least one reference to Greek mythology? Rhyming dictionary? Books on quotations?

How about prized college class texts? Class notes of favorite courses? Do you have a set of encyclopedias? And a multivolume set of masterplots? a collection of Modern Library literature?

Even though you may not be a scientist, have you made yourself scientifically literate? Have you read scientific studies, waded through, and not avoided the specialized data and its expression with some modicum of comprehension? Rather than avoid the tough language, do you tackle the ingredients lists on foods and drugs and sundries with adequate understanding, able to heed the warnings expressed or implied?

Have you gone through life teaching yourself what you have needed to know with the ever-changing situations, at every stage along the way?

Is it your intention to be comprehensive and correct? To make contributions through cyberspace? through different genres?

Having mentally inventoried your library, reference holdings, you might have converted yourself into a reliable cultural, media, and social critic. You have become curious, inquisitive. You do not accept simple answers to simple questions. You are a stickler in matters of good, correct form because you are literate and articulate in what good form is.

How often have you used one of the dictionaries in the past week? If a word is bothersome, do you feel the need to check it against the standard authorities and do so?

How does the non-fiction type stack up against the fiction type of literature?

Is your sense of humor lively, contextually responsive, without being cutting or misanthropic, and being empathetic?

Such self-discipline in public affairs — in matters of language and learning, literacy and self-expression, backed up by the personal library and the education that occasioned it — is not the norm.

I know people who hold such intellectual behavior against the person, as if that person were some odd life-form marked by excessive self-indulgence and moral decay. Within families, such a difference in education and background can be thoroughly disrupting.

It is my belief that Pres. Obama’s performance represents an intellectual performance that his Republican opponents and those illiterate demonstrators for the Tea-Party found worthy only of being despised and rejected. There can be an intellectual Great Wall of China between political parties, and I think we are going through such an experience now.

In this day and age, it is rough on anti-intellectuals. Because of that, they have formed their own political party. This is, thankfully for them, the nation of the big political tent. Their’s is a force to contend with. I have wanted to hang on them pejorative labels, and, in that, I have been hateful. Then I empathized with them—now don’t go overboard here, buddy! They must be heard. They must be answered. But not in the style they prefer. Would you, should you, do you talk baby-talk to your infant? I say, “No!” I would respect the anti-intellectuals only with the best and correct form and with a style worthy only of the best in discourse. What they do with it is up to them. It is their responsibility. I must perform according to my responsibility as I see it.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2010/06/01/are-you-an-intellectual/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 Comments

  1. Google

    One of our guests recently encouraged the following website.

  2. Thank you for publishing this very informative article content. It held my interest from the very first sentence, and has given me something to counter my ideals about the subject.

  3. I’m simply amazed by how different your article is on this topic. You have turned my ways of thinking around on many points. Thanks for this informative and engaging content.

  4. I personally think this article is fabulous. I agree with much of the information here and am inspired to read more on this topic. Thank you for keeping things interesting.

  5. This is quality writing. It’s been a while since I’ve read such good material. This writer has it going on in writing style and perceptions.

  6. This is a really tremendous article and I thank you that you have written in such a great way that even I could understand it. Keep up such good writing and you’ll get a lot more readers in the future for sure.

  7. I would like to know how long it took you to plan, research and write all this unique information. I completely agree on many points.
    [Not long at all.]

  8. What you’ve done with this informational material is made it a real thinker’s article. It’s not very often that I find this kind of content and I really like it.

  9. Much appreciated! I’m not 100% but close enough. Might be possible given all

  10. I have the same thoughts on much of this material. I am glad I’m not the only person who thinks this way. You have really written an excellent quality article here. Thank you very much.

  11. If words are armor you’ve written a solid suit here. I can’t dispute the points you make here as they are just too well thought out and written. Thank you for writing this interesting article.

  12. I thought I had a grasp on this topic until I read your article. I was very mistaken. You have taught me something today. Your article really opened my eyes.

  13. When I find an article that gives me reason to use my brain, it really impresses me. You’re article gives readers a reason to think even long after it’s read.

  14. I like how you put your words into writing. Your content is interesting to say the least. I respect your views expressed in this article.

  15. I seldom read many online articles because I find them dull and lacking in consistent material. Your article captured my attention because it’s so interesting and consistent. I appreciate that.

  16. Great post, this is one of my favourite topics and close to my heart.LOL.

  17. Very good post, I couldnt agree more with you.

  18. I personally think this article is fabulous. I agree with much of the information here and am inspired to read more on this topic. Thank you for keeping things interesting.

  19. The informative content in this article is what I like to see writers write. This material is well-written, interesting and intelligent. The inclusion of solidly made points is a plus.

  20. The ideas presented in this article are fresh and exciting. I had been bored with the same old articles with the same old clich?’s. It is very good to see something new for a change.

  21. Great job with this content! I think you are a very insightful person with a great talent for writing quality material. Thank you for sharing.

  22. Your use of formatting makes your article easy to read and interesting. Your content is engaging. I was trying to find something you might have left out for this information, but you’ve been very thorough.


Comments are closed.