The Law of the Squirrel, a “Cute-ish” Ethic for Squirrels—Deadly for Humanity

“If it’s there, and I can get at it, then it’s right and just for me to take it. What is ‘it’? Anything that feeds my fancy. I am a free agent, and my only obligation is to my personal survival.”

That is a primitive form of reasoning, a balancing of alternatives. What are the squirrel’s alternatives? Calculating the dangers from any human seen looking on from a distance against the desirability of “it”. The little bugger has worked hard to earn this opprobrium.

A human would call it a “crime” to steal bird-food from the bird-feeder and bringing the feeder crashing down after the squirrel’s rough “break-in” treatment of an expensive feeder. I did not know he had the tooth-power to gnaw through the tough lid of my hard plastic garbage can, now exposing to the elements the feed I kept there.

Human squirrels are another deadly serious matter. The newspapers report every day stories of human beings who have adopted the primitive reasoning of that law of the jungle, or, the “SQUIRREL’S ETHIC”, which reasoning is a rather low order of choice. Is it not a remarkable phenomenon that our prisons are full of human beings who have behaved like squirrels in a great variety of situations where they have made the squirrels choice, acted no better than at the simplest, sub-human level of primitive reasoning?

For the squirrel, there is the Have-A-Heart trap. For the human predator there is the humanity of “due process” to assess the magnitude of the crime and punishment. Both squirrel and convicted felon are relocated in a cage to another place.

One squirrel I know was back at his old stomping grounds before the re-locator could get back to the scene of the “crime”. How did the re-locator know it was the same miscreant? She had put a small daub of paint on the squirrels flank when it was in the cage. Animal recidivism, in man and beast. Hey, man —if I can call you that—I’m sorry. What was it you missed? Can you get it back? As for the beast, well, I’m sorry for you, too. But YOU HAVE GOT TO GO! I have a new strategy.

The squirrel(s) is/are now on a variable (I can’t watch him all the time!) operant conditioning schedule of negative reinforcement. I will-must teach him that the bird-feeder is off limits. However, since nature abhors a vacuum — guess what? I will eventually teach that lesson to all the squirrels in our world here. However, because they are territorial and if I can train one properly, he will stick around and find enough below the feeder where all the birds above have scattered seeds, and he will become my trained slave. You think? Nah! Unlikely.

Where in the development of a human life can experience in making choices be offered to the betterment of the individual and society? Moral and ethical choices?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2010/06/08/the-law-of-the-squirrel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A word of admiration for the publisher.The art of doing document is wonderful. I’ve got to appreciate your knowledge about the subject.

  2. This is very interesting, You are an excessively skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to in search of more of your wonderful post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  3. amazing stuff thanx 🙂

  4. You are one hundred% on the money! Most individuals I see view issues within the quick run and try to take each opportunity to promote or hype themselves instead of building credibility by way of helping others obtain their goals.

  5. ohh…nice submit but actually?/? 😛

  6. Nice tricks to get traffic. Properly achieved 🙂

  7. After all, what a great website and informative posts, I’ll add back-link – bookmark this web site? Regards, Reader.

  8. Hiya very good blog!!

  9. I read through this article wishing I could write as well as you. I am impressed with your style and presentation. Thanks for sharing it.

  10. I am glad to read about someone else’s opinion. I completely agree and I look forward to seeing more of this content in the future.

  11. Adding this to twitter great info.


Leave a Reply

