Our “Pandora’s Box”—

— opened at the bottom of the Gulf of Mexico.

“Pandora lifted the lid and out flew plagues and sorrows for mankind.” Caption of a drawing of that beautiful woman lifting the lid. She clapped down the lid in terror at what she had let loose in the world, but too soon, for only hope was left inside, the only good that had been put in the box by the gods.

What terrors do I see? Those ocean waters contain the microorganisms that produce oxygen. Cyanobacteria and plankton, on which some sea animals feed, produce atmospheric oxygen, some say over half comes from the oceans, or some say a third. Cyanobacteria created the majority of the oxygen at the time of Earth’s beginning, one factor that made this the Goldilocks planet, so rare as to be the one and only such planet in the universe, as far as we now know.

(The source in photosynthesis is horribly threatened as the so-called lungs of Earth, the tropical and subtropical forests, are afflicted with the cancer of human despoilation.)

I have not heard at any time about the size of that reservoir of oil, but it may have the size to replace the Gulf itself as a lake of surface oil. At least a water unfit for life of any kind. A lake of fire, if it could be lighted by some sinister force. And the oil appears to be traveling toward and into the Atlantic Ocean, another and greater source of Earth’s atmospheric oxygen.

The Gulf Scene is our Pandora’s box of real, not mythical, proportions, an event for our new century, but with even more, and more momentous ones to come. In that, am I a pessimist or realist? I like my intuition in such things. I’ll say it now: I told you so. Why can I be so certain? The track record of planning ahead by government, commerce and industry leads to my conclusion. It may take at least the rest of this century for the major enterprises of global society, commerce, state and world government, education, technology, and science to find and get on the learning curve driving toward effective (democratic) processes of problem-solving. (The answer, I have suggested before, is to begin a comprehensive systems analysis of our society. Some prescient U.S. President will eventually do it, hopefully, before we reach a time of no-return.) In short, it will be that long before “hope” is found and taken out of the box to shine its light on mankind again.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2010/06/10/our-pandoras-box-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 Comments

  1. Wow! This article is jam-packed full of useful information. The points made here are clear, concise, readable and poignant. I honestly like your writing style.

  2. A lot of thanks for all your valuable work on this web page. My daughter take interest in making time for investigation and it’s really simple to grasp why. My spouse and i hear all concerning the powerful medium you make priceless tricks via this website and as well increase participation from other ones on the issue so my daughter is truly starting to learn a lot of things. Have fun with the rest of the new year. You have been performing a stunning job.

  3. Reading this article really made me think. This is good quality information that anyone should be able to understand and use. Your ideas are valid and I agree with you.

  4. My spouse and i felt now more than happy when Emmanuel managed to round up his analysis from the ideas he received out of your web site. It’s not at all simplistic to simply possibly be freely giving procedures other people have been selling. And we all remember we need the writer to thank because of that. Those illustrations you’ve made, the simple web site navigation, the friendships you will make it easier to instill – it’s everything awesome, and it’s helping our son in addition to the family consider that the subject is interesting, and that is extraordinarily indispensable. Thank you for the whole thing!

  5. I really like your article. I agree with many of the points you’ve written here. This is a lot of good quality information. Thank you.

  6. This is very top quality article. I see your views as logically and intelligently presented. I concur with a lot of what you have written in this article. Thank you.

  7. 锘縄 was pretty pleased to search out this web-site.I want to thanks for your effort for this amazing learn!! I certainly taking advantage of any little it all and I had you saved as a favorite to look at fresh thing you article.

  8. I simply wished to say thanks once again. I’m not certain the things I would’ve achieved in the absence of these secrets discussed by you over my subject. Completely was the depressing concern in my view, but noticing this well-written avenue you dealt with it forced me to weep with delight. I will be happier for your work and in addition pray you realize what a great job that you are carrying out instructing the mediocre ones thru your webpage. Most likely you have never got to know all of us.

  9. I understand it’s not easy to research, outline and write informational material like this. For your efforts all you get are a few accolades on your content. I think this is prize-winning content. Thank you.

  10. Many teachers and college professors couldn’t write on this topic as well as you have. This is amazingly great work. I’ll have to share this.

  11. I read through this article wishing I could write as well as you. I am impressed with your style and presentation. Thanks for sharing it.

  12. If I had the talent you have, I would be happy. Your article has inspired me to become a better writer. Thank you so much.

  13. Nice one dude, I really like your work..


Comments are closed.

