Words Shall Be My Coffin

I am seeing, with lengthening age, the disappearance of all things beautiful. Things as I have known them. I see the molecules of my living joining those of others great and small, good and evil, ancient and modern, in the biosphere and atmosphere, the geosphere and hydrosphere, all the spheres of influence on life until the inevitable conclusion, when the rocky lifeless geosphere is shorn of all the other spheres in the heat death of all the beauties all life has ever given rise to.

The “I” ages, foretasting in small ways the inevitable, for me, and mine, and all.

The universal laws have passed their sentence.

In the light of the disappearance of light and life I see in my vain scratchings the only residue of this singular and peculiar configuration that is “I”. Artists of all kinds can give a rendering of that prospect laid out in front of us all. That which I saw through my windshield as I drove toward the front range of mountains is a metaphor for all the beauties in people, in music, in the concerts of people working together.

My personal loss is, “I” has not said all that should go into the coffin.

I have those small sighs of despair. Not all breath, but some slight vocal sound pushed in something like a gasp. When my consciousness is passed through by a whiff of disorder, of exasperation with unfinished business, of a frustrated drive toward a conclusion. I am overcome often by the reflex-sigh blurted out uncontrolled toward people with eyes that can see but are truly blind, foolish, many of them unpolitical politicians without policy—it’s election season! Those who do not even rise to the level of “shallow”.

The vocalized sighs come at night when I take in the whole of the day.

I know they are there. I put them there. I make them happen. As if conveying to myself some utter hopelessness, to commiserate with myself. Almost, “Poor me!” Sometimes they are meant to be heard. As if begging to be questioned about them, to open a dialog. But then, “Nothing.” That’s pride. Do I need help? I can take care of it. It’s my doing.

I miss the kind of friendly probing questions by which I lead others to analyze their business and speak aloud their problems and possible solutions. As much as that is possible by the other’s permission to proceed. Especially important in family communication.

I have hundreds and hundreds of pages of “scratchings”, the front range mountains of words un-communicated. The structures of my coffin holding the molecules that may be all that may be seen of my life. The atmosphere will hold the rest. My coffin will not be a box. Of the residue, say, “I’ve urned it. Rest in pieces.”

Somewhere, on any engraving on my urn, put this: “There are other things I’d rather be doing.”

Published in: on August 5, 2010 at 12:17 pm  Comments (80)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2010/08/05/words-shall-be-my-coffin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

80 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hello. fantastic job. I did not expect this. This is a splendid story. Thanks!

  2. I have been gone for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this site. Thank you, I’ll try and check back more frequently. How frequently do you update your website?

  3. Did you design the website this well with the default layout tools? Your site is incredible.
    [JFD reply: wordpress.com has skins to choose from. All I did was make some of my own choices, using html, for type face, etc.]

  4. As a Beginner, I’m all the time looking online for articles that can help me. Thanks

  5. Hiya webmaster I love your post ….

  6. This sort of usefule weblog…wow !!!!

  7. That is very interesting, You are a really expert blogger. I have joined your feed and remain up for wanting for additional of your superb post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

    • I appreciate your response. I value highly all the other preceding positive responses. They keep me chuggin along.

  8. Thanks! This can significantly help a beginner like me.

  9. As a Beginner, I’m at all times searching online for articles that may help me. Thank you

  10. Thanks for the share. I was discussing this exact thing with a coworker earlier.

  11. After all, what an awesome website and informative posts, I will upload back-link – bookmark this website? Regards, Reader.

  12. nice tips. maybe i have completed half or three/4 of this

  13. Simply recently, I am contemplating establishing a small dwelling-based biz. I nonetheless have no idea manner to begin so I’m fuelling myself with quantity of informations from seasoned marketers, like you.

  14. my God, i assumed you had been going to chip in with a few decisive insght on the end there, not leave it with ‘we depart it to you to decide’.

  15. Until I read your article, I thought I was well versed on this subject matter. Thank you for giving me more fresh information to add to my knowledge to make me an even better teacher.

  16. I read a lot of online articles and I’ve found that it’s hard to find quality writing. I’m so happy I found this article because it’s renews my faith in good writers. This is awesome!

  17. I enjoy reading new ideas by interesting writers. You have done a great job with this article. Thank you for this interesting and informative content.

  18. Great article. Your article has revived my confidence in quality online content. It’s gotten harder and harder to find interesting articles like yours online. Thank you for writing this article.

  19. I have many of the same views you have pointed out in your article. Your writing style gives readers many things to think about and consider. This is truly a great informative article. Thank you.

  20. There are several valid points here with which I agree. I will have think about some of them, but that’s why I like this article.

  21. I’m intrigued at how very engaging this informative article is, especially on this topic. You have hit the nail on the head with this information. Thank you for making your article so easy to understand.

  22. I am in awe of this quality unique content. You may not know how rare that is in today’s writing world. Your points of interest in this article almost match my own thoughts. Thank you.

  23. This overall content is fantastic. You make many points that I can agree with and others I need to ponder a bit. Your information content and writing ability is well above my expectations. Great work!

  24. This article is a great example of good quality content. It’s a well-written, interesting article that

  25. I have read a few of the articles on your website now, and I really like your style of blogging. I added it to my favorites web page list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my site as well and let me know what you think.

  26. Exceptional is the only word I can find to describe your content. I can’t tell you how long it’s been since I’ve found such terrific writing. I concur with your points of interest. Great job!

  27. i desire to say that i like this post a lot. many thanks!

  28. Your article swept me away with its vast information and great writing. Thank you for sharing your views with such passion. I like your views.


Leave a Reply

