Re-visiting My Blog Entry on the Beginning of the Iraq War, Entitled: Iraq (then and again)

[A Re-Entry from back then, on the occasion today of the conclusion of combat operations in Iraq, 8-18-2010]

On March 22, 2003, I listened to General Tommy Frank speak on C-SPAN. He said:

“Because of the courage and dedication of these heroes, the mission of Operation Iraqi Freedom will be achieved.”

Then General Tommy Frank stated these objectives of the war in Iraq:

  1. end Saddam’s regime;
  2. isolate and destroy weapons of mass destruction;
  3. drive out terrorism;
  4. collect intelligence related to terrorism;
  5. collect intelligence related to trafficking of weapons of mass destruction;
  6. provide humanitarian assistance to Iraq;
  7. secure oil resources for Iraqi people;
  8. help Iraqi people make the switch to representative Government.

Last year in March (a Sunday a.m. on CNN, 2006) one rolling TV image came from a Balad, Baghdad, surgery. The image was quick, indistinct. A soldier was being rolled into the room. He was shaking on the gurney to the care of a cadre of medical people. His tenor voice sang out in insufferable pain; it hit my ear, went straight to my stomach, echoing his torment. I am sick with recall in writing this, that full body shaking and that cry. My mouth filled with burning acid. I was instantly sick from empathy. The channel then switched to some dippy ad that I covered with shame.

(All the terrorists are not in Iraq. We have among us the uneducables, the irresponsibles, the anti-socials, the incorrigibles, the infantiles. I have the same empathetic feelings when the bestial murder of a young woman hits the screen. It happens regularly and often.)

The ultimate truth about Iraq is this: we fought their revolution for them. Their tyranny was overthrown for reasons incongruous to the Iraqi mind. When we got rid of our external dictatorship 230 years ago and established a rule of our own choosing, we had experienced the motive power it takes to fight a revolution and follow the war with a feeling of ownership, proprietorship. The Iraqis did not experience that. They were force-fed the process and result. The feeling of proprietorship did not motivate their efforts. But they are a fearless people. They have my utmost respect. They will endure. They will find their heroes and their centrifugal center that holds.

After our revolution of six years (1775-1781), we had unresolved internal problems with the details of governing our society, as the Iraqis are now working out theirs. For us, democratic procedures were new and not strong enough in the hearts and minds of the people for whom prescriptions were being written. Our main problem, “a house divided against itself” with no way to resolve the problem of slavery except a civil war of four years (April, 1861-April, 1865). From the American Revolution to the Civil War that finally relieved the problem on the surface spanned 1781 to 1861, 80 years. Compare the issue of slavery to the fighting in Iraq among several religious factions. Religious differences are just as thorny as racial divisions, and perhaps more intractable because religious differences lie deeper in the psyche than racial physical appearance. Should the Iraqis be expected to find brotherhood, coalescing in a national unity government with mature democratic mores and values in one or two years?

Given the Iraqi “revolution” (2003-present), Iraq had no historical, intellectual experience with alternative models of government. They lived surrounded by theocratic or authoritarian regimes that all wanted to oust the only democratic government set down in their midst by world government, the homeland for the Jewish people. Now they are close to having their civil war. Could it be a general rule of history that civil (internal factional) strife necessarily follows revolutionary (regime change) wars?

The terrorists want regime change nearly everywhere, in every land on earth. They have found many open wounds in Iraq and Afghanistan to tear at. Can the democratizing imperative outrun the theocratic aristocracy? Much will depend on the democratic progressives among the Muslim people in the Middle Eastern nations to maintain their fearlessness.

Published in: on August 18, 2010 at 6:08 pm  Comments (73)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2010/08/18/re-visiting-my-blog-entry-on-the-beginning-of-the-iraq-war-entitled-iraq-then-and-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

73 Comments

  1. Facebookpak.Com

    Re-visiting My Blog Entry on the Beginning of the Iraq War, Entitled: Iraq (then and again) | A Deliberative Mind: Proactive Reflective Prescient Egalitarian

  2. Google

    Always a massive fan of linking to bloggers that I enjoy but really don’t get a lot of link adore from.

  3. bathmate coupon

    I read this piece of writing fully about the difference of newest and preceding technologies, it’s amazing article.

  4. […] Summer Altice Summer Glau Sunny Mabrey Susan Ward Susie Castillo […]

  5. I have read many articles on this subject, but this one is the best I’ve seen. It’s nice to realize that some writers can still write with passion like you.

  6. Thank you for writing such a great informative article for today’s modern readers. Two thumbs up for great content and interesting views. I could only aspire to write like this.

  7. I’ve read several articles on this topic over the past few days, but yours is the only one that makes sense to me. Thank you.

  8. I think you have given me some things to think about with your article. Your insight into this topic has really impressed me. Thank you.

  9. In my opinion, I would have to agree with this writer on the information given in the article. The writer was very convincing in the way the article was written. I will read this again.

  10. Good writers are very difficult to find. You have done a great job in finding such an asset and given the freedom to express different views on this interesting subject.

  11. Wow! This is really amazing informative material. I’m impressed with how much information you have in this article. Thank you for writing this great article.

  12. It’s become uncommon to find superior article content online anymore. I was happy to find this well-written article. There are many reasonable points made that caused me to think. I have to agree with many.

  13. Really great writing! More writers should care as much as you do about the content they produce. This has really given me a good reason to think more on this subject. Thank you for this.

  14. Thought-provoking content is my favorite type of material. What you have written here is exactly what I’m talking about when I say thought-provoking. I am very impressed with your work. I agree with your views.

  15. I understand it’s not easy to research, outline and write informational material like this. For your efforts all you get are a few accolades on your content. I think this is prize-winning content. Thank you.

  16. I have seen other articles on this subject before, however, they pale in comparison to the way this article was written. You have great insight.

  17. Clearly you know from whence you speak on this subject. With that said, I’d like to tell you I admire your writing style. Your content is also very interesting and useful. I enjoyed this article.

  18. It’s about time someone submitted an article on this topic that makes sense. Most articles I’ve read on this subject have been boring and confusing at best. You did well.

  19. This article is obviously written for people like me with curious minds. I agree with several of the points written in this article. Thank you.

  20. I’m intrigued with your article content. You’re a great writer with a lot of insight and knowledge on this subject. I appreciate your unique points and dedication to good writing. This is really good content.

  21. This is a superb piece, I found your weblog browsing google for a related theme and came to this. I couldnt come across to much additional information on this piece, so it was pleasant to locate this one. I will certainly end up being back again to check out some other posts that you have another time.

  22. this is nice information need to know more

  23. Reading your article was a really illuminating experience. I enjoyed your informative content and learned a lot about this topic I never knew. You are an insightful writer. Thank you.


Comments are closed.

