My Socrates, My Plato, My Darwin etc.

My Socrates is the late Dr. Karl F. Robinson, Northwestern University. (The function of pedagogical practice is to channel the activity of the organism by the processes, defined in detail.)

My Plato is the late Dr. Clarence T. Simon, Northwestern University. (Verified, contrasted to intuitive knowledge, or self-evident knowledge. One cannot verify knowledge by introducing another’s own subjective evaluations — let alone his own — which are supposed to support what he knows.)

My Darwin is the late Gerald Heard. (“It is at least clear that as Individualism is a neurosis and that man, attempting to cure that unbearable condition, makes his life and civilization only worse by attempting to escape into a pre-individual condition, the only real cure would be by emergence on to a post- or supra-individual state.” And then: “The hypothesis put forward here is that man’s development when it ceased to be physiological became psychological. His history is his specific evolution. He evolves mentally.” [The first physical, unconscious-blind; the second technical, conscious-unreflective; the third psychical, inter-conscious-reflective.] Heard was followed by Julian Jaynes in my Darwinian development, The Origin of Consciousness in the Breakdown of the Bicameral Mind.

My Nicolaus Copernicus (the paradigm changer, from geocentric to heliocentric cosmology) is Jeremy Rifkin. (In The Empathic Civilization and Entropy, he is telling the world our existing world view is crumbling and what will replace it.)

My “King of Pop” is Richard Wagner (Ring Cycle), or Gustav Mahler. (And Ravel. And Glazunov. And Gershwin. And Porter, Fauré, Khachaturian, and so on and on and on…. I am a choral person. Sang in choirs in grade school, high school, university, the Congo-Uni Church — while showering, or working, or always humming, tunes from all those named previously, sotto voce. I won second prize in an amateur contest once when I was in the 3rd or 4th grade, doing imitations, but one especially, an orchestral rendition of Tchaikovsky’s “Waltz of the Flowers”.)

[The greatest melodies, ever? For humming? The tenor’s song in Der Rosenkavalier. Hans Sachs song, “Morgenlied”, in Die Meistersinger. “Nessun Dorma” from Turandot. Then there’s — well, I could go on for a very, very long time. There are the very great trios, such as that at the end of Der Rosenkavalier, worthy for inclusion in my humming repertoire. I do all three parts. And the duets, such as the “Evening Prayer” in Humperdinck’s Hansel and Gretel — I once long ago heard Carol Burnet and her show guest, Julie Andrews, sit on the edge of the stage in front of her TV audience and sing that duet to enormous effect.]

I am having trouble with “My Shakespeare”. I am leaning toward Emily Dickenson, but–

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2010/09/06/my-socrates-my-plato-my-darwin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

25 Comments

  1. This article completely blew my mind! I cannot believe how engaging this article is and how easy it is to understand your points on this topic. You are very talented. I hope you continue writing.

  2. This is an informative article on this subject and I really enjoyed the read. My regards and appreciation to the writer of this amazing material.

  3. The work that you put into this article is very evident and I enjoyed every word I read. This is truly amazingly great article writing!

  4. The times we live in has caused us to accept mediocre writing. I am glad that you stepped up and wrote interesting and informative material.

  5. Thank you for such a well thought out method of informational writing. I have had to start thinking outside the box on the fresh information that you have posted here.

  6. Great content like this isn’t easy to find online. You have given the world a wonderful article with many good points to consider. I agree with a lot of your views and enjoyed this article.

  7. This article is as intriguing as it is informative. I read through this information and couldn’t find a thing wrong with it. I can’t imagine anyone writing this article better.

  8. Your article has piqued my interest. This is definitely a thinker’s article with great content and interesting viewpoints. I agree in part with a lot of this content. Thank you for sharing this informational material.

  9. My ideals were somewhat different from the writer’s until I read this well-written and documented set of real facts supplied in this article. Thank you.

  10. Hello. Appreciate your sharing with us this post. I wish to emphasize to men and women on equipping themselves with the practical knowledge concerning how to look for cancer of the breast. In reality, cancer of the breast in males exists as well. Thanks a lot. Mary-Ann.

  11. I am very impress your this post, this is too much interesting. Thanks a lot…

  12. This is a really good read for me, Must admit that you are one of the best bloggers I ever saw.Thanks for posting this informative article.

  13. What an inspiring article filled with unique and fresh facts. It’s very informative and easy to read and understand. I have this bookmarked for future reference and research. Thank you.

  14. A great article is as much about writing flair as it is about technicalities, but you have it all. It takes a great writer to have flair and and skill.

  15. You are an impressive writer. I am impressed with how well you expressed your views in this article. This is very intelligent and thought-provoking content.

  16. This is a great piece of quality writing. I feel the points contained here are not only valid but extremely well-worded. Thank you so much.

  17. I bookmarked this content so I can review it further later. I have to ponder on few of the points you made. I do agree with most of this information.

  18. The viewpoints you make in your article are so well stated. This is easy to understand from the beginning. This is interesting to read. Thanks for clearing up some things I have been thinking about.

  19. You raise many queries in my thoughts; you wrote an excellent article, but this articlee is also thought provoking, and I am going to need to ponder it a bit more; I will be back soon.

  20. This is an excellent example of superior writing. You have made a good impression on me with your interesting content and unique point of view on this subject. Great work!

  21. I’m of like mind with you on many of your points mentioned in this content. I respect your writing abilities and appreciate your unique views.

  22. This article is more than interesting. You have written this in such a unique way that I read it and stayed interested. I agree with the points in your material.

  23. Genuinely definitely very good website article which has got me considering. I never looked at this from your point of view.

  24. This article gave us an important Brainstorm session of all the possibilities we could make use of on our blog.

  25. Not too sure how I stubled onto this blog but glad I did find it. Think I was searching for something else online. Not certain I agree 100% with what you say, but have bookmaked and will pop back to examine to see if you add any extra posts. Carry on the great work.


Comments are closed.

