The Mona Lisa Smile: My Interpretation

I have an interpretation of the Mona Lisa smile. I ask you, does it have any merit? In that painting are some features for which the painting became famous. Though I enjoy such art, my knowledge of such art is very limited, so you must tell me where I have gone wrong.

I have a brief book on that artist’s work, some in his own words, supplemented by commentary of art historians. There are some innovations in the painting, one being the depth perspective, exemplified by the fore-shortened arm of the model. Another is the coloring changes in nature that happen with distance, seen in the mountains at the back. Leonardo was the one who first caught those phenomena as aspects of nature. I think that the smile given the Mona Lisa at the center focus derives from an attitude the artist felt as he invented those features. He knew it. He was proud of it. I see a bit of smugness there, an excessive feeling of self-satisfaction. And it is justified, considering the critical appreciation and fame of that work of art.

Perhaps there is an art historian or expert who can tell me if such an observation has been made before.

(8-21-11) I have since learned that some art historian has overlaid the artist’s face and eyes onto the Mona Lisa’s eyes and face and seen a marked resemblance. As if the Mona Lisa subject of the painting is, as they said, “da Vinci in drag”. So they said. And that great artist has much to be, well, “smiling about”, in his innovations.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2010/11/18/the-mona-lisa-smile-my-interpretation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

39 Comments

  1. Kudos for a great article! Yours is one of the most interesting articles I’ve read on this subject. Your readers are lucky to read this.

  2. I am impressed with this information and would gladly read more from you. You are a good writer with a lot of talent. Thank you.

  3. Great article! This information really made me stop and think about it. I agree with much of the information you have written. I will have to read this over again.

  4. It is a pleasure to find a writer like you that seems to care a lot about the content write. I love this material and how you have made your views so clear and concise.

  5. Where else could I get this kind of information written in such an incite full way?

  6. Your writing is very motivational and you really took command of the subject. This article is a must read. It was a pleasure to read this article I am look forward to your future articles.

  7. It has been a long time since I’ve read anything so informative and compelling. I’m waiting for the next article from the writer. Thank you.

  8. It’s good to see writing that is so good that you know the writer has done the homework on the subject. I am impressed with your insight and viewpoints on this topic. Thank a bunch.

  9. You made some really great points in your material here. I couldn’t agree more with you. I hope many people gain access to this information.

  10. Your article is most uniquely written and very informative. You got my attention by sharing your viewpoints so effectively. I agree with a lot of your content. Great quality article.

  11. You have really made me think about this topic. You’re persuasive writing style and your writing skills are impressive. This is great info to have. I really enjoyed your article.

  12. Your article swept me away with its vast information and great writing. Thank you for sharing your views with such passion. I like your views.

  13. I love a good article and this one is great. You make many interesting points and I agree on several. I don’t disagree on others, but they require some thought.

  14. You are so inspirational and you talk sense. That�s important. You�re intelligent and you have a lot of heart. I love your posts! Thank you!

  15. Too many times I read uninteresting articles on subjects similar to this and lose interest in reading them. I’m delighted to see that you have changed my status on this subject by writing interesting material.

  16. I’m not sure I can out-comment anyone else on this article, but I do it’s good. I think your style of writing gives readers a reason to think and rethink.

  17. It’s very nice to find out other writers share like minds on some content. This is the case with your article. I really enjoyed this.

  18. This article is unique, original and engaging. You’ve captured my attention your use of persuasive terminology and logical points. Thank you for this useful information. I will be back to read more of your articles.

  19. Your writing is very motivational and you really took command of the subject. This article is a must read. It was a pleasure to read this article I am look forward to your future articles.

  20. So many writers today don’t take pride in their work the way you obviously do. Thank you for your dedication to excellent writing and creating this wonderful content. It’s as if you read my mind.

  21. I’m a little surprised at how interesting your content is. I think you should make an ebook out of this information. Thank you for sharing.

  22. You have given me a lot to think about with this content. I appreciate your views and agree on much of your content. Thank you.

  23. You have an impeccable way with words. This becomes evident when reading this article. I am impressed with your abilities and I like your point of view. I hope to read more of your articles.

  24. Unbelievable article as always, I am significantly considering one thing alongside the traces of an associate section alone web site… so very well timed post.

  25. Great content like this isn’t easy to find online. You have given the world a wonderful article with many good points to consider. I agree with a lot of your views and enjoyed this article.

  26. Thank you for sharing your knowledge on this topic. I appreciate the information and the fresh point of view you have shared in your article.

  27. I enjoy good reading material like this. It made me think and ponder on many things during the reading. I had to reread a couple of lines because I got so engrossed in this article.

  28. This content is very descriptive and informative on this subject. The work you put into this really shows. Thank you.

  29. I can tell the writer of this article went above and beyond to research this information. I’m very impressed with your views and writing style.

  30. Just found your site from Google! So helpful!

  31. Your article is written with extreme clarity and is informative. I might never have thought of this information in this way without your input. You’ve given me much to consider with your original subject matter.

  32. I admit, I have not been on this webpage in a long time… however it was another joy to see It is such an important topic and ignored by so many, even professionals. I thank you to help making people more aware of possible issues.

  33. If only I knew how to express my thoughts as well as you do. Then I could write a great article like yours that everyone likes. No, really, great job.

  34. This is an excellent example of quality article content. It’s well-written, interesting, intelligible and uncomplicated. If I were a writer, this is how I would write this content. You have a lot of writing talent.

  35. You raise many queries in my thoughts; you wrote an excellent article, but this articlee is also thought provoking, and I am going to need to ponder it a bit more; I will be back soon.

  36. What a great example of top quality article content. The article itself is very well-written, and contains great commentary that is able to hold your interest. Thanks for researching, planning and writing this great article.

  37. I’m glad I came across your article today. Your information is thought-provoking, insightful and very interesting. It genuinely gave me a lot to think about on this subject. Thank you.

  38. I love the content you have written on this information. I have to agree with you on nearly every point you make. I’m glad you made this interesting. You’ve made me think more than usual.

  39. This is very interesting information. I agree with a lot of this content. I like this article very much and I have enjoyed reading your points of interest. Thank you.


Comments are closed.

