My Ethic: As I Act, I Would Legislate for All Humanbeans

In This Case, My Oatmeal Breakfast

Oatmeal Breakfast?! ‘Tis such a small thing for grand ethics to reign over, isn’t it?

‘Tis such small precisions that compose the grandest nature of humanbeans, say I. Some say, the devil is in the details, where I say salvation is in the details. My sort of salvation. In this case, my salivation. But I have found many other employments for my ETHIC, and you may, too.

Whole grains, Quaker Old Fashion Oatmeal (not the quick-cooking, unnatural kind). Put a half cup of it in a pot. Pour in a half cup of milk and a half cup of water. (Some put in a pinch of salt; not I!) Simmer on the stove until cooked.

Add a peach. At summer’s end, buy a crate or two of peaches. Make sealable plastic bags-full of peaches, about nine of them in each bag. Put in the freezer. They will become hard as rocks.

All year long thereafter, fall, winter, spring, you will have peaches for your oatmeal.

Take out a frozen, rock-hard peach. Wrap a piece of paper towel around it. Put in the microwave oven. Set the time for a minute and a half. Set the power at “5”. Start. The peach will be thawed. Put it under running water for a moment. The peach skin will come off very, very easily, peeling the peach with your knife. With the paring knife, cut around the middle of the peach down to the pit; then, make wedge slices all around it, removing and discarding the pit. Put the slices in the pot when the oatmeal is fully cooked. And mix.

Pour the mixture into your bowl. Top with cinnamon, agave syrup, and a quarter cup of skim milk. Mix.

Buy the Ezekial-type bread. Several types are baked in the Los Angeles area and sent to groceries around the land. I like the multigrain sourdough. There is also a rye bread that is good. Among others. Eat oatmeal and bread toasted and buttered with Smart Balance buttery spread, bite for bite.

Nachtisch

Follow up with slices of toast, buttered with Smart Balance Buttrery Spread and covered with raspberry jam or orange marmelade. That, and a cup of hot green tea go well to top off a great breakfast.

Breakfast like a king. Lunch like a prince. Supper like a pauper.

Gesegnete Mahlzeit!

I Ask You:

What would be the consequences of such personal responsibility for the future of the human bean if this catgorical imperative were followed universally?

The ethic is the categorical imperative of Immanuel Kant (1724-1804), a world renowned philosopher). It states that one must act in such a way that you can will that your act should be a universal law.

Each person should (ought to? may? will? must?) adopt that simple guide to his or her behavior. That is the question.

All that over food?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/my-ethic-as-i-act-i-would-legislate-for-all-humanbeans/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One Comment

  1. My Ethic As I Act I Would Legislate For All Humanbeans…

    […]on February 27, 201 at 8:15 am Leave a Coment ? Like. Be the first to like this post.[…]…


Comments are closed.

