Release the Photos of Osama bin Laden?

Release the Photos of Osama bin Laden?

Yes! Definitely! It is an equality issue. We are all equal in a democracy, politically speaking. Those in command have seen the photos. We who are not in command are still the equals of those in command, not in their arts of command, but in their responsibility for command, ours being a political responsibility. Otherwise are we their inferiors of some knd? Do we need their protection from the enemies that our boys in the field of battle face every day? We, on the homefront, are equally in the battle against those forces that would defeat us, those boys and girls being our surrogates. What happened to the phrase stressing our democratic relationship, “We are all in this together”? Is that an empty emotion, devoid of meaning? Do not we bear responsibility for their actions? Do we not share the horrors of their exposure to the actions of our enemies? Need we be insulated from the grimness? Are we to remain at home civilian softies as “we” prosecute a war against vicious, hooded, murderers hiding in a non-combatant population of innocent civilians (regardless of where the sentiments lie)?

What superiority do you claim to stand on? Whose sensitivities, which you deem inferior, are you so quick to protect? Are we “commoners” a bunch of wimps? Are we persons who lack confidence, are irresolute and wishy-washy non-entities, people of no consequence to the way of the war?

If I were standing in the presence of the decision makers on this issue, I would be respectful, but I would not toady, kowtow, and flatter. I would speak my mind, not minimize myself in the presence of “rank”: Bring down on us what we all share, RESPONSIBILITY, that for what our armed defenders, and heroes, have done in our name and for us! We stand with them! As equals! We should see what horrors we are able, i/e., simply, the picture!

LET US SEE THE DAMNED PHOTOS!

POST SCRIPT 5-4-2011

I have heard many reactions voiced in the media to the question of releasing the photos after President Obama decided to withhold them. Some reasons were rather persuasive against the release, such as the use by bin Laden lovers for the purposes of any propaganda that might endanger American servicemen’s lives. But I maintain that ours is a nation of open records and transparency.

I would prefer that we not do what one church has done. I understand that the Vatican has in its great library a very large collection of literature that the Church calls “profane”, a word which means “for the church’s eyes only”. They ostensibly have this huge collection for the education and “sophistication” of its priests, so that in the confessional services the celibate priesthood will not react with ignorance of what they may hear in confessions.

With our government withholding the photos, we must have growing within our federal government a very large library collection of politically “profane” documents for the eyes of government people only, giving those personnel an advantage over non-privileged citizens. Secrets among officials can require the rest of us to TRUST our servants. I am sure such a state of affairs does not make a healthy, democratic environment.

“Trust me, buddy. I know things I cannot tell you. Classified, you know.” (Profane)

“Then how am I to make a wise descision as a citizen in a democracy?”

“Just trust me. I know best.”

Published in: on May 3, 2011 at 5:45 pm  Comments (36)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2011/05/03/release-the-photo-of-osama-bin-laden/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

36 Comments

  1. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: emergent79.wordpress.com/2011/05/03/release-the-photo-of-osama-bin-laden/ […]…

  2. I really enjoyed reading your thoughts in this article. I think your material is of great quality and it’s engaging and smart. You’re really good.

  3. I read so many articles with poorly-written content that your article is very impressive. It’s good to know there are writers that can write well and make their points clear.

  4. I like your ideas in this article. You have an insightful view of the topic and I concur. This is a delightful piece of writing.

  5. This is the most unique article I have read in quite some time. Thank you for presenting your points and providing this information. I have learned something about this topic.

  6. You bring up several interesting views that got me thinking. I agree on a lot of this content. I feel you have a lot of good insight in this area.

  7. Thank you very much for sharing your knowledge on this subject. I agree with a great deal of your material. This is very good information.

  8. Your work is very inspiring. This article is material that is absorbing and interesting. The points made here are original. I hope you continue this. Your work surpasses my expectations.

  9. I’m the kind of person who shows appreciation for good articles when I find it deserving. You deserve to know you’re a very good writer.

  10. Thanks for providing this valuable and quality content. Your writing style is impressive and unique. I enjoyed reading your article and agree on many points.

  11. It takes a real thinker to put together such great article content such as this. I agree with many of your views here. You make many strong points on the subject. This content is awesome.

  12. I enjoy brain-stimulating content like this. I have no issue with any of the information here. I agree with a good deal of the points mentioned in this excellent article.

  13. This is great reading. It’s loaded with useful material that anyone can understand. I really like to read articles that are put together so well.

  14. You are an impressive writer. I am impressed with how well you expressed your views in this article. This is very intelligent and thought-provoking content.

  15. This is an outstanding article. Articles like this are uncommon in the online world. I know, because I read a lot of content online. You have contributed valuable, interesting and well-written information on this subject.

  16. Awesome article, I am regular visitor of this website, keep up the good work, and I will be a regular visitor for a very long time.

  17. Anyone that has read this kind of information in the past knows how hard it is to get a fresh view on it. You have made this task a little easier with your article. Thanks.

  18. I consider writing to be true art. When a writer writes interesting and incredible content you have I am very pleased. Your content is unique.

  19. Thank you for writing this tremendous top quality article. The information in this material confirms my point of view and you really laid it out well. I could never have written an article this good.

  20. The simple explanations you have provided along with your article make this one of the best written and best detail-oriented articles I have had the enjoyment of reading and thinking about in a long time.

  21. You are doing a great job of writing to your readers. Many writers write content that talks at the reader whereas you speak to them directly with information they want and need. I appreciate that.

  22. I wouldn’t dispute the original thoughts in your interesting article. I think your content is of great quality, smart and it really drive readers to think. I like your ideas.

  23. I hope you realize how well you have presented this topic. You must have done tons of research for this article. You stayed on topic, kept it interesting and used good grammar throughout this article.

  24. I like your ideas in this article. You have an insightful view of the topic and I concur. This is a delightful piece of writing.

  25. I’m of like mind with you on many of your points mentioned in this content. I respect your writing abilities and appreciate your unique views.

  26. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So nice to search out someone with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is one thing that is wanted on the net, somebody with somewhat originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  27. This information is unique to me. I really like your points and think you put a new spin on this for readers. I respect your writing style. You’re so perceptive.

  28. I enjoy reading a post that makes people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  29. How long did it take you to write this amazing content? I can’t imagine the focus and patience it took to put this information together.

  30. This article has an influential writing style. The specifics of your article are obviously researched and made very clear. Thanks for writing such an informative article that made me think.

  31. Your article has proven useful to me. It’s very informative and you are obviously very knowledgeable in this area. You have opened my eyes to varying views on this topic with interesting and solid content.

  32. It truly is incomprehensible to me now, however in general, the effectiveness and meaning is overwhelming. Thank you and good luck…

  33. Well said! – I looked at the Wiki on this and it did not have as good info – thanks!

  34. Although I would’ve preferred if you went into a little bit more detail, I still got the gist of what you meant. I agree with it. It might not be a popular idea, but it makes sense. Will definitely come back for more of this. Great work

  35. It s a topic challenging for discussions always. Nice issues you used for argumentation


Comments are closed.