What Is Gray’s Anatomy?

In answer to that question, I must look on my bookshelf. I have a book there I have never opened, called “Gray’s Anatomy”. I do not know how it got there or when it got there. I am guessing that I must have thought at one time that that would be a reference everyone should have and so I bought it. Now I am going to open it.

“The art of anatomy is almost as old as civilization itself.”

Without reading further, let me say what I already “know”. My commonsensical understanding, that is, derived from I do not know where nor do I know when, but some info is there, in memory. Please correct me if I am wrong.

About the human body, there is anatomy, and there is physiology. (I have never had a course in biology, anatomy, or physiology. As I say, this is all coming from some sort of “common sense”.) I am saying that anatomy is “form”, the naming of parts, and physiology is “function”, how anatomy, or the parts work.

Now I wonder if my book, Gray’s Anatomy is really Gray’s Anatomy and Physiology. So I will now look up the lungs, hoping to find an explanation of the function of “respiration”.

This book is a paperback, 2 and a half inches thick. (Oh, it looks like I never wrote on the title page my name or the date I acquired it, as is my wont. That would have been nice to know.) Hmmmm. 1901 Edition. Anatomy, Descriptive and Surgical. That must mean “Form and Function”, don’t you think? By Henry Gray, F.R.S., (Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons etc.)

Index, “Respiration, muscles of, 355, Organs of, 955”.

“The Diaphragm is the principle muscle of inspiration….” The Description proceeds to “all expulsive acts” and “forced expiration”. So I conclude that it is impossible to talk of form without also talking about function, both anatomy and physiology, physiology being the study of function. Gray’s Anatomy is really Gray’s Anatomy and Physiology.

Why am I interested in this?

Inspiration and expiration are inhalation and exhalation. In those functions we bring in the gases, carbon dioxide, oxygen, and nitrogen, that will be carried out through the arteries and back through the veins. Venous blood carries more carbon dioxide and less oxygen than arterial blood. Blood going through the lungs must be re-oxygenated and the other gases of waste like carbon dioxide must be exhaled back into the atmosphere. (Nitrogen stays the same in intake and output.) Further information about respiration I cannot find in the book. The index did not lead me to the functions of breathing beyond matters of form.

With this book in hand, I am a monkey with a computer at hand. It is a big book with a strange language, vocabulary, and syntax. I have tried to put it to some use, informing me about heart failure. Should I consciously tend to my breathing and control it for better intake of the good and output of the bad?

Gray’s Anatomy is not my answer. However, its existence in my book collection symbolizes something about me, my knowledge-acquisitiveness, maybe even a bibliomania. In my present attempt to put it to some practical use, I did not do well. But its obtuseness drove me to some less obtuse sources. Like Wikipedia.

I wanted to find out about breathing, respiration, inspiration and expiration, inhalation and exhalation, the intake of oxygen from our atmosphere, the processing of all the gases in the atmosphere by our bodies, and how that can be related to heart failure. Walk briskly and that creates deep breathing, and deep breathing restores a body. So, can I deep breathe anytime, lying around, sitting and watching TV, or wherever, and continue to improve my general health, especially the function of the heart, and make it well again?

The air we inhale is roughly 78% by volume nitrogen, 21% oxygen, 0.96% argon and 0.04% carbon dioxide, helium, water, and other gases.

The oxygen so characteristic of our atmosphere was almost all produced by plants (cyanobacteria or, more colloquially, blue-green algae).

All that applies directly to this: the “LUNGS” of Mother Earth are the great jungles of plants around the equator, and the plankton in the oceans, but those are being torn down or terribly polluted. Thus, the composition may change and look more like the venous blood rather than the arterial blood. Is the heart failure of Mother Earth at hand?

My questions have not been answered.

At least, I opened that book for the first time since I bought it many years ago. The knowledge is out there, walking around on two legs, and charging hefty prices for their ability to digest such books and convey to me what I need to know in a form more useable to me, talk, consultation, talk.

Trouble is, finding a really good talker.

Published in: on May 4, 2011 at 8:20 am  Comments (44)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2011/05/04/what-is-grays-anatomy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

44 Comments

  1. raspberry ketones supplements

    What Is Gray’s Anatomy? | A Deliberative Mind: Proactive Reflective Prescient Egalitarian

  2. Google

    Here are several of the internet sites we suggest for our visitors.

  3. Passion for writing is a good thing. Passion for what you write is an amazing thing. It’s evident by the way you have written this article that you have both.

  4. Writing a great article is about flair and passion. You obviously have passion and flair which is evidenced in this article. You keep your readers’ interest from the first sentence.

  5. I wish more writers cared as much as you do about the content they share. You’ve really made some interesting points. Thank you so much.

  6. Your outlook on this subject has me rethinking my position. I am glad you shared this informative article. It’s helped me be more open-minded. You are a very persuasive writer.

  7. You have chosen an impossible idea and made it possible for the common person to see and believe. Keep up the good work, and I look forward to much more from your mind and hand.

  8. Any reader that enjoys interesting and quality information like me will really like this article. What I like about this article is that it is engaging, intelligent without being threatening and it has well-defined points.

  9. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively useful and it has helped me out loadsI hope to contribute & aid other users like its helped meGood job.

  10. I really like this article. I can tell you have a lot knowledge on the topic and writing skills. Thank you for this interesting material.

  11. My cousin recommended this blog and she was totally right keep up the fantastic work!

  12. I don’t comment about the articles I read online, but this one is so interesting, I have to say something. It’s very original and different. Your viewpoints are easily understood.

  13. This is the perfect combination of passion and superior material wrapped up into an easily understandable article. Truly a well-written, fact filled, fun article. My and I children loved it.

  14. I found this article to be loaded with detailed information that I know to be correct. Not once did you stray from your ideas, nor did you supply off the wall information that confuses readers.

  15. It appears that a number of the pages in your footer are no longer working. You might want to take a look really quickly to see what’s going on there.

  16. Your article shows you have a passion for writing and knowledge on the topic. I think you have given me many reasons to think. Thanks.

  17. I have to say thanks for this great and useful blog post. It’s a kind of controversial point of view but I really have to say that you make your view totally clear and understandable. Thanks again for sharing this information. It was a pleasure to read. Have a nice day. 🙂

  18. If an article could really be perfect, yours would be the one I’d pick. I like how you’ve stated your views and kept things engaging.

  19. This article is an example of writing by someone who really cares about their content. I wish I could find more good reading like this online, but not all writers care as much as you.

  20. I have been searching online for this information and I have only found confusing and poorly written articles until now. This is the best and easiest to understand article on this topic I have found.

  21. I like to read an article that express interesting views. Many points the author made are unique and are things I wouldn’t have thought about.

  22. From the very first sentence I was engaged. From the introduction to the conclusion your writer stayed with factual points. I am impressed with this.

  23. Back in my college days I seldom read writing this good. You display a lot of knowledge without being intimidating. Your attention to detail is superb. You make clear-cut points on which I can concur.

  24. This is my first time i visit here. I found so many interesting stuff in your blog especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! keep up the good work.

  25. Rather than produce the same old content you have taken this subject to a whole new level . Kudos for not following the standard writing crowd.

  26. Some people don’t want to write on ideas like yours. Thank you for taking a subject of today and making it understandable for me to learn more about that I can use in everyday life.

  27. This article is really good. I’ve enjoyed reading the original content and fresh ideas you wrote. You are good at writing on this topic and I hope I can read more of your work soon.

  28. Some people think they are writers, but you’re a real writer. You have included many valuable, interesting views in your article. This content is a wonderful example of good writing.

  29. This article had to take you a lot of research time. I am impressed with the formatting and content. I agree on a lot of what you have written here.

  30. This article is really well researched. I think this content is valuable information that you have written in a unique way. You’ve represented your views in an interesting, engaging way that makes your readers think.

  31. I read many badly written articles these days. This article is a breath of fresh air. It’s nice to see you care about what and how you present your views.

  32. This article is an appealing wealth of informative data that is interesting and well-written. I commend your hard work on this and thank you for this information. You’ve got what it takes to get attention.

  33. Clearly you know from whence you speak on this subject. With that said, I’d like to tell you I admire your writing style. Your content is also very interesting and useful. I enjoyed this article.

  34. You have sparked much thought for your readers with impressive informational material. I am so happy I came across your article and I share in your views written here. Thank you for sharing your knowledge.

  35. Motivating blog

  36. Good scan, good points, a number of which I have learned along the manner additionally (humility, grace, layoff the controversial stuff). Can share with my colleagues at work as we begin blogging from a company perspective.

  37. This is so great that I had to comment. I’m usually just a lurker, taking in knowledge and nodding my head in quiet approval at the good stuff…..this required written props. Theory rocks…thanks.

  38. can you give me a lot more info on this

    • I do not know what more you need. Any bookstore sells it. The book is very comprehensive. [JFD]

  39. My companion and i actually just like your article together with your current site all in all!

  40. Very Interesting Blog! Thank You For Thi Blog

  41. I absolutely do not believe you.

    • Eh?! What’s to believe? I was being rather factual, believe it or not. [JFD]


Comments are closed.

