On Hearing Pres. Obama Speak to the British Parliament (5-25-11)

I could feel the pride rising in my chest, having one so eloquent represent us before the world.

Then, all I could think of is those people out there screaming through ugly faces all screwed up and anguished with,

“THAT BOY HAS BLACK SKIN! I HATE BLACK SKIN! NOBODY CAN HAVE BLACK SKIN AND SPEAK FOR US THAT WAY. I HATE BLACK SKIN! HE AIN’T MY PRESIDENT! HE SHOULDN’T BE THERE! GET RID OF HIM! I HATE BLACK SKIN!”

Poor dears, it must be frightfully tough for them!

Those sad, sad people probably did not hear him speak. But Pres. Obama— did I say, they hate black skin? —said it well. Not reading from a script, no notes, just extemporaneous speaking, just prepared well with a mind stuffed full of his message on the American and the British way of proceeding in this world against a heaping share of hostility toward the American and British way.

Pride! Thankful! Eloquent! He’s a good man. I say “MAN” where those who say they hate black skin say “boy”. I do not have to ask those sad people for their pedigree, or birth certificate. The minute they open their mouths it becomes obvious. They go through life as all white “black-skin haters”. They majored in it. Their parents majored in it. They got their degree in it. They are doctors of philosophy in black-skin hating. They can’t get past that surface of black skin. Even brown looks black to them. Even tan looks black to them. Even white with hints of blackness-shapes looks black to them. I love to hate them. When I encounter them socially, I test my tolerance and say nothing, but may ask the simple question, “Why do you dislike black skin?” Of course, that makes me, in their eyes, a black skin lover. Actually I am a look-beyond-black-skin-to-see-what’s-to-like- or-love-or-dislike person. I see the singer, the poet, the philosopher, the composer, the player, the comic, the friend, the President — Why can’t they, those sad people, do the same? It is simply taught in chilhood, like religion. It is a religion. They grow up to be “birthers”.

But I am not without sin. Once, in a conversation at a convention with a small group of my confrers, I said to one of them who is black, “You people (etc blah-blah-blah),” I was quickly made to realize that I had just ‘stereotyped” him. I will never forget that lesson about stereotyping, treating people as a class and not as individuals who may have little to do with the class, whatever that happens to be, old, rich, foreigner, poor, ugly, handicapped, they being in many ways different from their “class”. Nobody is without sin, even the most pious.

Atta boy, Pres! (Ooooooops! Sorry!)

(I have since read a reaction in an article written for far right-wing Brit conservatives. Totally negative. Just exactly like the worst American Republican hate-filled positions that are taken daily here.)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/on-hearing-pres-obama-speak-to-the-british-parliament/trackback/

