What did “Memorial Day” used to be called?

I advise everyone who owns a computer and who can go online to search for the “History of Memorial Day”. But to get the best story, you have to know what Memorial Day used to be called. When I was young, which was ages ago, it was called “Decoration Day”, and that is what you must enter to do a search. You should get this:

Memorial-Decoration Day

I remember the parades downtown.

There is one downtown parade, on the square at Woodstock, IL (where the movie “Groundhog Day” was filmed, and where my wife’s father’s drug store was located, on the NE corner of the square). I will never forget only because of one marching unit, the way it was commanded. I see it now. It was an army unit, I’d say about 15 rows with about 15 soldiers in each row. They were the most disciplined of any ranks of soldiers I had ever seen and will never see again in my lifetime. At Camp Hood, TX, we marched, but never like that, more like a column of bunches.

They marched very tightly together, shoulder to shoulder, front to back. Every leg moved as one. The put down of each foot to the red paving bricks was exactly as one together, and loud. Tight and loud of foot, but eerily silent, for watchers and marchers. Bayonets fixed. Eyes and chins straight ahead. What a beautiful statement of honor, triumph, power, dedication, concentrated pride.

Stirring!

Magnificent!

Masterful!

Memorable!

Unforgetable. You should be so lucky to see such a “Decoration Day” procession.

Somewhere on another of my blogs, I have designed a Memorial Day Procession, not a parade — a “procession”, originally intended for Pueblo, Colorado. My article was published in the Pueblo newspaper.

A Memorial Day Procession

Never done.

Published in: on May 28, 2011 at 8:20 am  Comments (15)  

15 Comments

  1. Wow, thiѕ article іs nice, my yοunger
    sister іs analyzing suh things, thuѕ I am goіng too inform ɦer.

  2. May I just say what a relief to find somebody that genuinely
    knows what they are discussing on the net.
    You actually understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    More people need to read this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised you’re not more popular since you certainly have the gift.
    [NOTE JFD says: There is popularity, but then there is “celebrity”, and for me?
    That will never be. Thank you for your interest.]

  3. Hi, after reading this amazing post i am too
    glad to share my knowledge here with friends.

  4. In case you do not views my asking, do you make very good dollars from this web page?
    [JFD, author of everything on this blog since its beginning, says: I make no money
    for writing any of my blog essays, never have, never will; that is
    not why I write these articles. I do it because I like to write my opinions and my
    point of view on world affairs for anyone interested in another view of events.
    You are the first to ask that question.]

  5. Appreciating the hard work you put into your site and
    in depth information you provide. It’s awesome
    to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same
    out of date rehashed information. Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  6. Having read this I believed it was very informative. I appreciate you spending some time
    and effort to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading
    and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  7. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely great.
    I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise.
    I cant wait to read much more from you. This is really
    a great website.
    [JFD says: What a grand compliment! Thank you!
    I had one university course in basic French.
    Very fundamental in pronunciation and grammar.
    ” je ne me te se nous vous le la le liu leur
    i en et pas donnezz ” ?????? basic word order rule?]

  8. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website so i came to “return the favor”.
    I’m trying to find things to enhance my web site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  9. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts and I am
    waiting for your further post thank you once again.

  10. Touche. Solid arguments. Keep up the great effort.

  11. I love what you guys tend to be up too. This kind
    of clever work and exposure! Keep up the good works guys I’ve included you guys to my blogroll.

    • Only one hitch! I am not “guys”! I am me, myself and I. All alone.
      Nobody here but this rooster. [JFD]

  12. Super Website…


Comments are closed.

