The Test of the Good Doctor (or, The Good Patient)

“Now that’s a good doctor!” Can you say that about your doctor? What is there that will test whether your doctor is acutely insightful and wise, a source of valuable insights and sapient advice. In short, your doctor is good because your doctor is understanding. And what is it he must understand?

That you understand!

He or she diagnoses your health problem. Then he says that he will write a prescription for you to take. Now! Here comes the test of the empathy and understanding of your doctor! Is this doctor of yours a truly great doctor? What must your doctor do to prove his or her ability to solve or alleviate your health problem?

The doctor must be assured by you that you understand your health problem. How do the best doctors do that? He simply says this: “Now you tell me what I have described as your problem. In your own words say what I have told you that your health problem is.” If the doctor does not do that, then it is totally up to you to be the GOOD patient to say, “Now doctor, let me get this straight. This is my problem as you have stated it: (blah-blah-blah) Is that right?” Then you must go on to say, “This prescription will do this: (blah-blah-blah) Am I right?”

You have stated what you have understood to be your health problem. You get it right. Or you get it half right and you are corrected. Or you have missed the point altogether and are corrected. You have then passed the test of understanding or you have misunderstood. When you leave that good doctor’s office, you will have a firm grip on your marching orders, what you have to do to make yourself better.

Much of the confusion is what the nature of your problem is, how you take your medicine, what the effects will be, what cautions must be heeded, what side effects might occur, and how the prescription will act on that problem and, hopefully, will “cure” the problem. A huge problem is in the terminology, the medical words for health problems and the medical words for the medicines. Absolutely HUGE! The jargon, the mind-numbing jargon of the profession laid on the patient.

Such thorough understanding should be the goal of any doctor who considers him- or herself to be a great doctor. And, the goal of any GOOD patient.

It is APPLIED UNDERSTANDING, where you actively listen by repeating back what the speaker said to the speaker’s satisfaction.

Actually, we should all be so lucky to have such an informative interchange. I do not think such doctors are in plentiful supply. And I do not believe that GOOD PATIENTS are in plentiful supply, either. As it so happens, I have been undergoing such a problem that has motivated me to write this. (I am shaking my didactic finger in my own face at this point.) But I think I have figured it out on my own. Now I will go to the pharmacist and tell him what I have put together as my problem and all that stuff about the prescription. If the doctor does not do it, it’s up to you to put together your own narrative. And I hope you have the active mind to do for yourself what the doctor may have left undone.

A former colleague of mine studied doctor-patient communication. I remember his saying that many doctors have not had a course in doctor-patient communication. That may have to be on-the-job training. Unless med schools have begun to include that in the curriculum.

Doctor, heal thyself!

Patient, question! Persist! Probe thyself! It is your duty.

Maybe it is just a well choreographed dance, taking two to tango.

Post Script: 6-23-11

May I suggest to you that you try out “active listening” (APPLIED UNDERSTANDING) on that teen-ager in your family. Adolescents can be tough because their peer pressure is so tough for you moms and dads to compete against. Also, your boss! Also your spouse! Also your teacher! Also your (?) (you name it) etc. etc. etc.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/the-test-of-the-good-doctor-or-the-good-patient/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 Comments

  1. Of course, what a fantastic website and informative posts, I’ll upload oneway link – bookmark this website? Regards, Reader.

  2. my God, i assumed you have been going to chip in with some decisive insght on the finish there, not depart it with ‘we go away it to you to determine’.
    [JFD: “HUH?” ‘we go away it to you to determine’ HUH?]

  3. It was interesting. You appear very knowledgeable in ypour field.

  4. It is great to have the opportunity to read a good quality article with useful information on topics that plenty are interested on. I concur with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your future updates. Thanks a lot and keep on posting more valuable information.

  5. I genuinely liked reading through your post!. Quality material. I might advise you to come up with blogposts even more often. By doing this, having this kind of a worthy website I think you will probably rank higher in the search engines.

    • I understand your comment direction toward higher ratings. Actually, I have been oblivious to any ratings. Nobody has ever rated my work, and it was so simple to select a button. But people will write small notes, mostly all positive, which are better than button-pressing anyway. No, I have no idea where or how to see a rating by Google or any other agency. Somebody said I rated an A+. Another said I deserved a high rating. That’s good enough for me. I have never done anything but try to write what I like and to write about in the way I like to write it. Sometimes the well runs low. Then a bright idea hits, and I am eager to write it. But I am now writing a book on a theme not mentioned on my blogs, and some blog materials will go over as relevant to the theme of the book. I must admit the positive comments are tempting bait to keep up articles for the blogs, especially when my site is deemed “worthy”, and that hangs on me as a responsibility of sorts. Do you understand that? Thank you. JFD

  6. Thanks for sharing this. keep up the good work.I really appreciate this sharing this.Nice and informative article thanks for sharing this great info with us.


Comments are closed.

