11-11-11-2011

Veterans Day. Used to be “Armistice Day”. The eleventh hour, the eleventh day, the eleventh month, (and this is an eleventh year as well).

Started on November 11, 1919, as Armistice Day, the first anniversary of the signing of the armistice ending World War I, but was made a national holiday beginning in 1938. (Not Memorial Day!)

I remember having to stand beside my desk with all the other kids doing the same. We turned to face the east. We observed a moment of silence. Veterans Day pays tribute to all American veterans–living or dead–but especially gives thanks to living veterans who served their country honorably during war or peacetime. My home town usually had a parade. I love parades. I designed one once. A Procession Proposed for Memorial Day

I am a veteran of WWII. I did my service, called up in the draft. I trained for combat infantry. Camp (now “Fort”) Hood, TX. Shipped to Europe. Ended up in Austria, guarding trains going back and forth to Vienna through the Russian Zone. I was sent by my company to Nürnberg as an observer of the first war-crimes trial of Nazis.

Published in: on November 11, 2011 at 12:45 pm  Comments (36)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2011/11/11/11-11-11-2011/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

36 Comments

  1. The information mentioned within the write-up are a few of the top readily available.

  2. I really enjoy studying on this web site , it has superb articles .

  3. You’ve some great content articles, though My spouse and i dont completely trust several things inside post their nevertheless a really interesting opinion

  4. I ran across your web site by means of yahoo was looking for article. I’ll help save it regarding future reference point.

  5. Perfect work you have done, this site is really cool with superb information.

  6. I’m typically to blogging and i actually respect your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your website and maintain checking for brand new information.

  7. I am typically to blogging and i actually appreciate your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your site and preserve checking for brand spanking new information.

  8. This post makes a great impact on our selection. Cheers!

  9. Enjoyed reading through this, very good stuff, thankyou .

  10. Excellent read. I just passed this onto a buddy who was doing a little research on that. He just bought me lunch since I found it for him! Therefore let me rephrase: Thanks for lunch!

  11. Whoa! Now i’m regularly amazed which you find a way to maintain thumping away this kind of useful blogposts. I must say i do not know how we control to accomplish it every single day similar to this, but continue the nice function.

  12. Greetings I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was looking on Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the great job.

  13. Very nice very nice stuff you have on ur blog your above excellence

  14. Was initially investigating this particular stuff by using google when I stumbled on your web-site. A great amount brilliant content on here. Unquestionably one for my favs. Lance

  15. Hello everyone. I was just surfing the Internet for fun and came upon your website. Terrific post. Thanks a lot for sharing your experience! It is good to know that some people still put in an effort into managing their websites. I’ll be sure to check back

  16. I am bookmarking this asap! Thank you very much 😉

  17. No way thank you for all your info

  18. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Reading this info So i’m satisfied to show that I have a very good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I most for sure will make certain to do not forget this web site and give it a look on a continuing basis.

  19. This website is often a walk-through for all the details you wished relating to this and didn’t know who to question. Look here, and you will probably certainly find it.

  20. �Alguien sabe de que va esto? Aun Asi de que tus articulos sea un referente para mi.
    [Anyone know what this is? Even so that your items is a benchmark for me.]

    • Anyone know what this is? Even so that your items is a benchmark for me.

  21. Attractive part of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing in your augment or even I achievement you get admission to consistently fast. Sorry for bad English I am visiting your site from Japan 😀

  22. Hello my friend! I want to say that this article is awesome, great written and come with almost all important infos. I’d like to look extra posts like this .

  23. I’m a newer blogger. I was wondering as to how you keep up all the comments your webpage gets. I’m having issues staying in front of them all. You can message me at. Thanks and great blog.

  24. Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve have in mind your stuff prior to and you’re simply extremely magnificent. I actually like what you have acquired right here, certainly like what you are saying and the best way by which you say it. You’re making it enjoyable and you continue to take care of to stay it sensible. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a great site.

  25. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to say that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing on your augment or even I fulfillment you get entry to persistently quickly.

  26. I don’t even know the way I stopped up here, however I thought this submit used to be great. I do not recognise who you’re but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger when you aren’t already. Cheers!

  27. Greetings I found your awesome blog through Google I hope you don’t mind. As a new and fellow blogger, I was curious as to what you use for website protection. My blogger blog was recently hacked and I lost everything! You can contact me, esophageal spasm treatment at Kuns@aol.com. Thanks and happy blogging.

  28. Hi, Neat post. There’s an issue with your web site in internet explorer, may check this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace chief and a huge portion of people will pass over your magnificent writing due to this problem.

  29. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He used to be entirely right. This submit actually made my day. You can not consider simply how so much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  30. Hello, Neat post. There is an issue along with your site in web explorer, could test thisK IE still is the marketplace leader and a huge portion of other people will miss your magnificent writing because of this problem.

  31. You should take part in a contest for probably the greatest blogs on the web. I’ll advocate this site!

  32. Attractive part of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to claim that I get actually enjoyed account your weblog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing on your feeds or even I achievement you get right of entry to persistently rapidly.

  33. We absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome site!
    (JFD: thank you. I will keep my blog entries to, and for myself. However, I appreciate your idea of keeping together different points of view thoughts on the same content.)


Comments are closed.

