Sen. John McCain — ******!

I just heard it! John McCain said it, with an “Amen” from brother Eric Cantor, Republican majority leader. I cannot believe the pettiness, the small-minded stupidity of prominent Republicans in the legislative business of caring for the future of the nation following the principles that they have written, as required reading for all Senators and Representatives seeking the highest office, in their style handbook for Republican candidates, The Presidency for Dummies. McCain said, “President Obama should be playing much more of a lead role rather than go shopping for his dog.” They are bloodthirsty crazy for Obama’s defeat, begrudging him some personal moments at the time of this special season.

The second I heard it, I burst out with condemnation of an act that should cause much exaspertion and great irritation (or even anger) at such meanness, narrowness. But, remember, they are Republicans, devoid of any understanding of, or empathy for someone who is not an opponent, in what is intended to be a civilized election process, but is actually the ENEMY to be vilified at each and every opportunity, no matter how small.

Less than an enemy, President Obama should be shown some respect, and seasonal generosity, as an opponent of WAAITT, and a worthy opponent at that. Treat him that way, in order to have the courtesy returned. The diplomats do it in their diplomatic style, as in the United Nations, even in regard to some of the most villainous characters from rogue nations around the globe.

The worthy successor, if it is the good fortune of a Republican to win the office, can only be produced by the worthy opponent. A great opponent in any game will show the winner in the finest light. There has to be mutual respect.

John McCain (and Cantor) has earned the disgrace of persona non grata, unacceptable for the government in which he serves.

In dealing with people who are unacceptable, I have some difficulty in facing them. What if I were, at some point, to confront John McCain? I know it will never happen. But just imagine it, for a moment. What am I likely to say to his face?

“Mr. McCain, [note the lack of “Sen.”] I know you meant much to this nation as a Viet Nam war prisioner and veteran for many years, that you languished there in great difficulty and mighty endurance. I know and respect that side of your persona. BUT, I think you have something more to live up to, however, rather than come down to your low-blow demeaning of Pres. Obama, making no allowances for him to experience small family pursuits at this time of year, done by you only to belittle him for your political gain. Mr. McCain, if I were to call you an ass, that would be an ad hominem attack, which really has no place in civilized discourse, so I will not lower myself to that level. You were grandstanding for your Republican buddies, following your Republican manual of campaign style practices, The Presidency for Dummies. You have today added to your credentials as a proper Republican. Now do something more rotten.”

I am sure I could face him with those words, or words to that effect. I do not have trouble at all with telling people to their faces what they need to hear, but with proper respect. If I have cause to dislike them, I can be, and want to be clear.

Now I have wasted enough time, purging myself, of what? Strong, partisan political feelings. I am content. ‘Tis the season.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2011/12/22/mccain-crapass-dunderhead/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 Comments

  1. I heard somebody talking about this on the radio yesterday, but I can’t remember what station it was.

  2. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually realize what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly also discuss with my web site =). We may have a hyperlink trade contract among us

  3. I will right away grab your rss as I can not in finding your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please allow me realize in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  4. It’s some sort of shame you don’t employ a contribute press button! I’d undoubtedly contribute to that brilliant blog page! When i think in the meantime i’ll accept bookmarking in addition to putting ones Rss to help the The search engines bank account. When i glimpse ahead to help new upgrades and may promote that webpage having the Facebook or myspace crew:

  5. Hey friend I like your blog.

  6. Hey! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great information you’ve right here on this post. I shall be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  7. Hello, i feel that i saw you visited my site so i came to return the choose?.I am attempting to in finding issues to improve my website!I assume its ok to make use of a few of your ideas!!

  8. Thanks a lot for giving everyone an extraordinarily special chance to read articles and blog posts from here. It’s always so brilliant and jam-packed with amusement for me and my office fellow workers to search the blog particularly thrice in a week to read the new guides you have got. And lastly, I’m just at all times happy with all the breathtaking information you give. Selected 1 ideas on this page are truly the simplest I have had.

  9. Excellent post man, maintain the good function, just shared this with my friendz 267539


Comments are closed.

