The Political Game Obama Should Play

My favoite candidate is Barack Obama. He is now engaged in the political game, seeking re-election. The arena he chooses to play in is the playing field of the “rally”, here and there, helter-skelter cheer-leading sessions. He is the agent, the player executing the coach’s plan. But he happens also to be the coach. Okay, I will be the referee. Obama has many fans in the stands waiting patiently for him to do what he does best, rather than act like a cheer-leader for his game.

I am the acting referee, self appointed, but I know when he is breaking the Obama book of rules, and I want to blow the whistle on him. He is not a rah-rah cheerleader for himself. He is not the player playing the game he is best at. He takes his game to raucous rallies to play the role of cheerleader. I can see he relishes that role. BUT, as a player in the political game, that is not the best employment of his agency skills. That is like a quarterback wanting to play the game of the lineman.

What, then, is his best strategy for him to win the game?

I have heard him give speeches. The man is an orator in the long tradition of speech-giving, standing before a large audience, producing a collection of words threaded on a single strand like pearls on a string, pearls of high style and wisdom that bring the political sense of his arguments to the silent audience hungering for the plan for their future as his leadership will work to make it happen.

Why does he deny his best self-presentation?

Instead of those political ads costing millions with no audience he can see to no certain result, just thrown out there willy-nilly, every which way— chance, switching to the game of the lottery, hoping to win—

THE MAN IS AN ORATOR! THAT’S HIS GAME! AND HE’S NOT PLAYING IT! And I am the referee throwing the yellow flag on him. The penalty may be the cause of his losing the game.

He should take his millions and buy time for a nation-wide speech, laying out his plan, as he stands before a silent audience.

I heard him speak to the United Nations. I heard his speech to the Arabs. I heard him speak on Benghazi. I have heard him speak as often as I could in many places on many occasions. He does it well. That is his true game. He is the agent of his re-election. Let’s hear it, Mr. President.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2012/10/24/the-political-game-obama-should-play/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 Comments

  1. great post! loved it and will come back 🙂

  2. Ich habe online mehr als drei Stunden gesurft ,aber kaum Eintraege gefunden, die so perfekt wie deine
    waren. Das ist echt wunderbar fuer mich!

    • Danke sehr. Ich habe alles was Sie geschrieben haben sofort verstanden. Ich habe so viel meine Deutsche Sprachbeherrschung verloren, am meistens, den Wortschatz. Wieder, Danke!

  3. You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the
    greatest websites online. I most certainly will recommend
    this site!

  4. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this
    matter to be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  5. Hi to all, as I am actually keen of reading this
    webpage’s post to be updated on a regular basis. It includes nice data.

  6. Nobody can see want you to mug you in the basement. It’s OK. You can certainly be a facebook star =)


Comments are closed.

