Hurricane “Sandy”: Questions to Be Asked

There are certain “higher powers” in our world. One of them is NATURE. The television reporters are currently covering the immediate basic effects of that super-storm called “Sandy”, but I turn to the ultimate questions that will be asked.

Since I have heard much of the televised coverage, I am thinking in a preventive mode here, of questions I have not yet heard asked:

• Where was Sandy spawned?
• Are there weather pictures of its being spawned?
• If so, could we see them?
• How high into the atmosphere does such a disturbance extend, up to and including the stratosphere?
• Could some kind of aircraft have positioned itself high above the budding disturbance?
• Would it have been possible to have had high-altitude bombing to disturb the infant hurricane, breaking up its combination of factor that caused it to form?
• If it were over water, the damage done to the water by bombing would not have been as bad as the damage done to life on land where it was headed. Is that not right?
• Where are the engineers who conceived and built the dwellings that have been destroyed? Do the engineers have the power of intellect to design storm-proof buildings, or is it a trade-off between economy in building and the remote liklihood of such powerful storms. Ultimately, would it have been cheaper in the long run to have designed and built all kinds of weather-proof buildings and infrastructure (power lines underground, etc.) than to take our chances with such a storm happening?
• Is not “Be Prepared!” always a good motto? I know already what the engineering profession is going to answer: NO!

With every disaster of different kinds all over the U.S. map, I ask the questions about building that could better anticipate such disasters. I am sure that such measures to prevent would be more costly and the beneficiaries would only be those few out of the entire population who have been hit occasionally by fires, tornadoes, floods, earthquakes, tsunamis, etc., you name it. ‘Twouldn’t be feasible.

Anyway, those are some questions that pop into my mind about the news of “Sandy” today, although I’d like to hear some of the weather people and reporters take up such questions once in a while. What do you think?

3 Comments

  1. Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest authoring on other websites? I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e mail.

  2. Good web site you have here.. It’s difficult to find quality writing like yours nowadays. I really appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  3. Fantastic beat ! I would like to apprentice at the same time as you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I were tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered vibrant transparent concept


Comments are closed.

