Ralph Waldo Emerson’s Essay on Gifts—A Christmas Seasonal Reminder to All of Us

This essay was written by Ralph Waldo Emerson in 1844. It appears in anthologies of American literature for secondary students. We should take his views to heart as we shop for Christmas gifts, and so for occasions the rest of the year. I have underlined the most quotable and the most quoted phrase in this essay, easily a most memorable guideline for the giving of gifts.

Begin Quote

It is said that the world is in a state of bankruptcy, that the world owes the world more than the world can pay, and ought to go into chancery, and be sold. I do not think this general insolvency, which involves in some sort all the population, to be the reason of the difficulty experienced at Christmas and New Year, and other times, in bestowing gifts; since it is always so pleasant to be generous, though very vexatious to pay debts. But the impediment lies in the choosing. If, at any time, it comes into my head, that a present is due from me to somebody, I am puzzled what to give, until the opportunity is gone. Flowers and fruits are always fit presents; flowers, because they are a proud assertion that a ray of beauty outvalues all the utilities of the world. These gay natures contrast with the somewhat stern countenance of ordinary nature: they are like music heard out of a work-house. Nature does not cocker us: we are children, not pets: she is not fond: everything is dealt to us without fear or favor, after severe universal laws. Yet these delicate flowers look like the frolic and interference of love and beauty. Men use to tell us that we love flattery, even though we are not deceived by it, because it shows that we are of importance enough to be courted. Something like that pleasure, the flowers give us: what am I to whom these sweet hints are addressed? Fruits are acceptable gifts, because they are the flower of commodities, and admit of fantastic values being attached to them. If a man should send to me to come a hundred miles to visit him, and should set before me a basket of fine summer-fruit, I should think there was some proportion between the labor and the reward.

For common gifts, necessity makes pertinences and beauty every day, and one is glad when an imperative leaves him no option, since if the man at the door have no shoes, you have not to consider whether you could procure him a paint-box. And as it is always pleasing to see a man eat bread, or drink water, in the house or out of doors, so it is always a great satisfaction to supply these first wants. Necessity does everything well. In our condition of universal dependence, it seems heroic to let the petitioner be the judge of his necessity, and to give all that is asked, though at great inconvenience. If it be a fantastic desire, it is better to leave to others the office of punishing him. I can think of many parts I should prefer playing to that of the Furies. Next to things of necessity, the rule for a gift, which one of my friends prescribed, is, that we might convey to some person that which properly belonged to his character, and was easily associated with him in thought. But our tokens of compliment and love are for the most part barbarous. Rings and other jewels are not gifts, but apologies for gifts. The only gift is a portion of thyself. Thou must bleed for me. Therefore the poet brings his poem; the shepherd, his lamb; the farmer, corn; the miner, a gem; the sailor, coral and shells; the painter, his picture; the girl, a handkerchief of her own sewing. This is right and pleasing, for it restores society in so far to its primary basis, when a man’s biography is conveyed in his gift, and every man’s wealth is an index of his merit. But it is a cold, lifeless business when you go to the shops to buy me something, which does not represent your life and talent, but a goldsmith’s. This is fit for kings, and rich men who represent kings, and a false state of property, to make presents of gold and silver stuffs, as a kind of symbolical sin-offering, or payment of black-mail.

The law of benefits is a difficult channel, which requires careful sailing, or rude boats. It is not the office of a man to receive gifts. How dare you give them? We wish to be self-sustained. We do not quite forgive a giver. The hand that feeds us is in some danger of being bitten. We can receive anything from love, for that is a way of receiving it from ourselves; but not from any one who assumes to bestow. We sometimes hate the meat which we eat, because there seems something of degrading dependence in living by it.

He is a good man, who can receive a gift well. We are either glad or sorry at a gift, and both emotions are unbecoming. Some violence, I think, is done, some degradation borne, when I rejoice or grieve at a gift. I am sorry when my independence is invaded, or when a gift comes from such as do not know my spirit, and so the act is not supported; and if the gift pleases me overmuch, then I should be ashamed that the donor should read my heart, and see that I love his commodity, and not him. The gift, to be true, must be the flowing of the giver unto me, correspondent to my flowing unto him. When the waters are at level, then my goods pass to him, and his to me. All his are mine, all mine his. I say to him, How can you give me this pot of oil, or this flagon of wine, when all your oil and wine is mine, which belief of mine this gift seems to deny? Hence the fitness of beautiful, not useful things for gifts. This giving is flat usurpation, and therefore when the beneficiary is ungrateful, as all beneficiaries hate all Timons, not at all considering the value of the gift, but looking back to the greater store it was taken from, I rather sympathize with the beneficiary, than with the anger of my lord Timon. For, the expectation of gratitude is mean, and is continually punished by the total insensibility of the obliged person. It is a great happiness to get off without injury and heart-burning, from one who has had the ill luck to be served by you. It is a very onerous business, this of being served, and the debtor naturally wishes to give you a slap. A golden text for these gentlemen is that which I so admire in the Buddhist, who never thanks, and who says, “Do not flatter your benefactors.”

The reason of these discords I conceive to be, that there is no commensurability between a man and any gift. You cannot give anything to a magnanimous person. After you have served him, he at once puts you in debt by his magnanimity. The service a man renders his friend is trivial and selfish, compared with the service he knows his friend stood in readiness to yield him, alike before he had begun to serve his friend, and now also. Compared with that good-will I bear my friend, the benefit it is in my power to render him seems small. Besides, our action on each other, good as well as evil, is so incidental and at random, that we can seldom hear the acknowledgments of any person who would thank us for a benefit, without some shame and humiliation. We can rarely strike a direct stroke, but must be content with an oblique one; we seldom have the satisfaction of yielding a direct benefit, which is directly received. But rectitude scatters favors on every side without knowing it, and receives with wonder the thanks of all people.

I fear to breathe any treason against the majesty of love, which is the genius and god of gifts, and to whom we must not affect to prescribe. Let him give kingdoms or flower-leaves indifferently. There are persons, from whom we always expect fairy tokens; let us not cease to expect them. This is prerogative, and not to be limited by our municipal rules. For the rest, I like to see that we cannot be bought and sold. The best of hospitality and of generosity is also not in the will, but in fate. I find that I am not much to you; you do not need me; you do not feel me; then am I thrust out of doors, though you proffer me house and lands. No services are of any value, but only likeness. When I have attempted to join myself to others by services, it proved an intellectual trick,–no more. They eat your service like apples, and leave you out. But love them, and they feel you, and delight in you all the time.

End Quote

First printed in a periodical, The Dial, “The Gift” was published in Emerson’s Essays: Second Series, published by James Munroe and Company in 1844.

I was explicitly thinking of this essay when I was motivated to ask some people to come to my house for several hours AS THEIR GIFT TO ME. That is what I wanted for my Christmas gift from them, a bit of their time. I intended to have a program for them that would have been uplifting to me, and as I hoped, would also be uplifting to them, somewhat of a gift to them from my giving of myself. Their gift to me was my giving to them what I like to do above all else, teach, have some influence for good. It was “Emerson” all the way. How did it turn out?

Created on … December 11, 2012

Published in: on December 11, 2012 at 4:03 pm  Comments (44)  

44 Comments

  1. I like the helpful information you provide on your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check once more here frequently. I’m fairly sure I’ll be told many new stuff proper here! Best of luck for the following!

  2. I rarely comment, but i did some searching and wound up here Ralph Waldo Emerson�s Essay on Gifts-A
    Christmas Seasonal Reminder to All of Us � A Deliberative Mind: Proactive Reflective Prescient Egalitarian.
    And I do have some questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it simply me or does it look like a few of the comments come across like
    they are coming from brain dead people? 😛 And, if
    you are posting at other places, I would like to keep up with
    everything new you have to post. Could you make a list of every one
    of your social pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page
    or linkedin profile?
    [I do no other social media. Just this. And I think I am going to quit this soon.
    ‘Brain Dead”???? Nah. Either their native language is not English, or they did not pass basic English composition.
    Some have said that I have helped them. That’s good. But I am tired. Time to move on.]

  3. I used to be recommended this website through my cousin. I’m no longer sure whether or not this submit is written by him as nobody else know such targeted approximately my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thanks!

  4. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your website provided us with useful information to paintings on.
    You’ve done a formidable task and our entire group can be grateful to you.
    [Thank you.]

  5. Pretty component to content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to
    say that I acquire in fact loved account your blog posts.
    Any way I will be subscribing on your augment or even
    I achievement you get admission to consistently rapidly.

  6. certainly like your web-site but you have to take a look at the spelling
    on several of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding
    it very bothersome to tell the reality however I’ll certainly come back again.
    [JFD: Sorry, I do not believe you. What have I misspelled? I could not find it.
    I am an excellent speller. Typos do happen. Put the word here that has offended you.
    Rife?! RIFE!!? Typos!! ALL! I am sorry for every one of them. I am a hunt-and-peck typist.
    Just a pecker. More pecker than fast typist. With me, typing that way is very slow,
    word for word. I think it’s a marvel that I have, on these blogs typed the equivalent
    of several books, in that tedious way. I give myself a pat on the back for that.
    And, too, I have to keep my eyes on the keyboard as well as the screen because
    I do not have that memory in the fingers that touch-typists have. It’s a labor of love,
    for me. Now, you have to appreciate that.
    BUT! IF YOU SEE A MISSPELLED WORD, WHEN YOU MAKE YOUR CRITICISM, PUT THE WORD DOWN
    THAT I HAVE MISSPELLED! THAT’S AN ORDER! POINT TO IT SPECIFICALLY! JFD.
    BY THE WAY. I would need another lifetime if I were to correct all th grammatical errors
    I encounter in these comments. I just pass over all of them with understanding
    that English has not been taught very well in the schools. And teaching English
    so that there is pride in being correct, after graduation and going into
    the real world of work.]

  7. obviously like your web-site however you need to check the spelling on several of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very bothersome to inform the truth however I will definitely come again again. [Put the misspelled word here, please. I do not see it. Perhaps a typo.]

  8. My brother recommended I would possibly like this web site. He was once totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how a lot time I had spent for this info! Thank you!

  9. If you wish for to grow your familiarity simply keep visiting this site and be updated with the hottest gossip posted here.

  10. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to provide something again and help others like you aided me.

  11. It’s the best time to make some plans for the longer term and it is time to be happy. I have read this submit and if I may I wish to counsel you some attention-grabbing things or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles regarding this article. I wish to learn even more things about it!

  12. Excellent blog you have got here.. It’s hard to find excellent writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  13. […] // 7 Life Lessons from a Holocaust SurvivorRalph Waldo Emerson’s Essay on Gifts—A Christmas Seasonal Reminder to All of Us […]

  14. Hi there to all, as I am in fact keen of reading this weblog’s post to be updated on a regular basis. It contains pleasant stuff.

  15. I am truly delighted to glance at this website posts which contains plenty of helpful facts, thanks for providing such statistics.

  16. At this moment I am going away to do my breakfast,
    after having my breakfast coming over again to read more news.

  17. My programmer is trying to persuade me to move
    to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of
    the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using
    Movable-type on numerous websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to
    another platform. I have heard great things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content
    into it? Any kind of help would be really appreciated!
    {I am not a techie. No help here.]

  18. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board
    and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to
    give something back and aid others like you helped
    me.

  19. Excellent way of explaining, and good paragraph to take facts regarding
    my presentation subject, which i am going to present in school.

  20. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some
    advice from an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about
    making my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Appreciate it
    [Easy on WordPress. Free. Top rated.]

  21. Thanks for another informative site. The place else could I am getting that kind of info written in such a perfect method?
    I’ve a venture that I’m just now working on, and I have been on the glance
    out for such information..

  22. I all the time used to study piece of writing in news papers but now as
    I am a user of net thus from now I am using net for articles or
    reviews, thanks to web.

  23. Fastidious respond in return of this difficulty with real arguments and telling
    all about that.

  24. Hello! Your write-up rocks at the same time as getting a legitimate superb recognize!
    ??
    I can??t actually aid but admire your blog web site, your site is adorable and nice
    My partner and I stumbled more than here unique site and believed I should check
    factors out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you. Appear ahead to
    discovering your internet web page yet again.

  25. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a
    really well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  26. Hey there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re working with? I’ve loaded
    your blog in 3 different browsers and I must say
    this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a honest price?
    Many thanks, I appreciate it!
    [Use WordPress like I did. Great. Free.]

  27. Very soon this site will be famous amid all blog people,
    due to it’s nice content

  28. For the reason that the admin of this website
    is working, no uncertainty very quickly it will be
    well-known, due to its feature contents.

  29. Howdy this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG
    editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  30. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say
    that I have really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. After all
    I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  31. Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance
    from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking
    about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thank you

  32. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website
    and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed
    account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment
    and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  33. … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: emergent79.wordpress.com/2012/12/11/ralph-waldo-emersons-essay-on-giftsa-christmas-seasonal-reminder-to-all-of-us/ […]…

  34. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board
    and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much.

    I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.

  35. Couldn’t have presented it significantly better myself – and I’m a law student!

  36. You actually make it appear so easy together with your presentation but I in
    finding this topic to be really something which I believe I’d never understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very vast for me. I’m looking ahead to your next post,
    I’ll attempt to get the cling of it!

  37. my very own prevailing subject matter incidentally is short time car insurance cover but it surprises me how so many invariably intelligent car drivers can’t realise that inconsiderate driving can wreck lives.

  38. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website so i came to “return the favor”.
    I am attempting to find things to improve my web site!
    I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  39. Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with
    Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very
    good success. If you know of any please share. Kudos!

  40. I simply want to tell you that I’m all new to blogging and site-building and really loved this web page. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You surely come with awesome articles. Thanks a lot for sharing your web site.

  41. This is a topic that’s close to my heart… Thank you! Exactly where are your contact details though?

  42. I like the helpful information you provide in your
    articles. I will bookmark your blog and check once more right here frequently.

    I am reasonably sure I will be informed many
    new stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!

  43. bookmarked!!, I love your site!

  44. Hi to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from
    this site, and your views are good designed for new viewers.


Comments are closed.

