The Plan of God with a Laissez-Faire Policy

What is the highest, but hardly imaginable power in the universe? Hint: “bb”. Some may have thought three letters, perhaps, “—“.

That “bb” has consequences with which we are still living, the expanding universe, and the potential for a bumper-cars ride to an end. It started eons ago. Around five billion years ago, it is said. [No, CORRECTION: I just heard that the latest figure is 13.81 billion years from the “Big Bang” to the present, 2013.] Now that is power beyond imagination. But greater force, to some, is, yes, GOD, the highest power anywhere and everywhere, from the beginning of time (as was the bb) to the present and even extending beyond, past the foreseeable future, when comes the b.c. (big crunch). From all that has been attributed to God, I would have to say, too, yes there is that unimaginable power, all-knowing and all-powerful omnipotent, all-seeing omniscient, and everywhere at once-omnipresent.

Some talk about their standing in His (Its) presence. Can you imagine having to speak to God? What could you possibly say? Your Earthbound habits of phatic communication: “Hello, God. How’s it going?” Out the window. What’s to say? What kind of conversation could anyone have with such a powerful presence? Alright, no conversation. Tell the most powerful doctor what ails you? Beyond medical. Ask for a miracle? Too late for that. “How am I doing?” A request for your judgment? your fate? No small talk. No big talk, the “big stuff” now moot. You haven’t got a prayer. Praying at this point is not appropriate. That’s Earth talk. Just let “Him”(?) do all the talking and shut up? God does not converse, does it? (God has no gender, except the Earth-attribution of “Father”, God anthropomorphised.)

The way that speaking to God is done here and now is a one-way road. Called “prayer”. You are on that one-way street and you are praying that there is no major traffic tangle up ahead as you think about getting to your work of engaging God in talk. How should you do this? It is no longer a one-way street, standing there in His presence, is it?

So. How would you talk to such a power that knows all, sees all, past and present, knows all you think about, anticipates every question before it is uttered, sees the beginning and end of your individual life as well as all those lives on an over-populated planet, and at the same time He is receiving messages (prayers in hundreds of languages) from all over the Globe, and probably from all over the universe, too, from every galaxy and all life forms there. We are not alone.

Think of all the individual supplications He must cope with. Sorry. You do not have that great expanse of an imagination. Nor do I. What is my asking for anything going to mean? In that vast welter of prayer? My needs of ego are so infinitesimal, immeasurably, incalculably minute.

I believe that one version of religion, the self proclaimed “universal” denomination, had to “create” the concept of “miracle” in order to demonstrate that God does “interject” His-Its-Her presence in human affairs, making God more real to the common folk. I believe that there is a religion’s need to have the “miraculous” in human affairs (Catholicism); it contributes to the “magic” and “wondrous awe” just like the great cathedrals that religions have constructed, to produce the majestic reverberations of the sounds of choirs and other instruments, including the human voice in preaching. It is theatre. I maintain my definition of “miracle” as things going according to plan. Really, there are miracles all around us, in construction and business empires. Science fiction has an abundance of them, that someday may become actualized. Science fiction is miraculous and read and viewed onscreen almost like a bible. Hollywood films have always tried to produce the miraculous.

Except for Mohandas K. Gandhi. Sheer charisma, divinely conferred power of a personal ethos of wisdom, virtue of moral character, and good will. A walking Bible, modeling the words inside it.

Hence, I may as well think of God as a laissez-faire ruler, “Let it be,” or, “Let them do as they will,” or, “Leave it alone”. A “hands off” policy of operation, coming down to “God helps those who help themselves.” The human who coined that phrase probably had the experience of that impossibility of tending to a task too large even for God. “This is a do-it-yourself universe, or what the hell is a brain for?” And God may have thought of it in just that way. (I know I am making attributions for God, but then the “men” in the white collars can be heard frequently putting words into God’s mouth, assuming that God-like view all the time. “God wouldn’t have wanted that!” That was said by a clergyman of the atrocity in that grade school. He wanted to be speaking the mind of God, didn’t he?) And if humans help themselves in all things, then there is no need for God’s help. Or, let them do it for themselves and let them call it the hand of God. God moves in mysterious ways. Many human beings have performed God-like miracles which are things just going according to plan, in my definition. (The miracle on the Hudson.)

I want to say, somewhere: We are not God’s automatons, wired and wound up and set down to perform as in an experiment, not to amuse and entertain! If there is such a higher power, it may be curious to see what one brain in a brain-driven (reason-driven) body can do, on its own, for better or worse. So far, so good? The science seems to be working, but the reasoning seems to be lagging. That’s to be expected because that goes beyond science’s technology, to depend on governability of fully socialized human beings who would stop the suffering of criminal (ungoverned) behavior.

I will venture some evidence in support of the truth of my belief in the “laissez-faire” God. Jesus was said to be God’s Earthly son, and that is widely believed in the Christian religion. Jesus himself apparently believed it, addressing God as his father. Yet, as he was undergoing that barbaric, final ordeal of the crucifixion——

An Aside about that “Barbaric Crucifixion”:

Someone has said, “It is inconceivable to adherents of Islam that God could tolerate such an obscenity as crucifixion.” [The Australian, 2004, in, Wickie.]

However, did not the monsters of 9-11-01, playing GOD, commit the obscenity of self-crucifixion, screaming “Glory to God!”, as they brought down the twin towers and actually crucifying a great number of human lives as death-sentence-victims pronounced guilty-without-a-trial in an obscene crucifixion of random humanity? TALK ABOUT AN OBSCENITY! TALK ABOUT CRUCIFIXION! That was one of the biggest for God to have to tolerate!

End Aside.

———that final ordeal of the crucifixion, the man Jesus, near death, had some doubts when he uttered the fourth word of his seven last words: “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” (Matthew 27:46 and Mark 15:34) Those words came from a mortal suffering mortality at that extremely human, lonely moment of death, and, perhaps, even having an inkling of a possibility that it might be countermanded by one so mighty, a Father saving his Son. God’s sacrifice? Have there ever been human fathers who have sacrificed a son for the belief of the father’s? If ever there were grounds for the belief in a “laissez faire”, hands-off policy of an immortal deity in a Heaven, that crucial event in the history of organized religion certainly seems to be it. The son of that deity has pronounced it. Yet, the preachers, parsons, reverends, pastors, Popes speak as if the deity is very highly active in responding to people’s prayers and granting all sorts of remedies growing out of their faith and prayer. God is good. As if such a power could be “seduced” by all grades of attempts at flattery. Reason collides with unreason! If there is a God, reason in the human mind is the most vital element of proof that there is a God. There is the reason of science and the science of reason by which humanity will earn the gifts that a God would give. Sexual transgressions are one devil constituting one challenge to the ability to reason in some grand contest of passion and mind.

Reason takes many forms besides science. I will give you one superlative form of reason: Gustav Mahler’s symphonies.

With a religion of the hands-off, YOYO policy of the ultimate deity, what are we to do? What human beings do best: study to apply reason in order to start to earn a paradise here on Earth, and let the rest take care of whatever remains after that. Reason and goodness will result. Just now, there is great unreason to be conquered, because people can be fatally deficient in reasoning abilities, when emotion is allowed to override it.

Readers here who are believers must be struck dumb at my heresy, unorthodoxy, heterodoxy, believing that I am surely hell-bound for eternal damnation. A body could not burn forever in the fires so vividly described to horrify and scarify and bully an unbeliever into a coerced belief. Maybe it’s that other construction, the immortal, incorporeal soul, that is to be submitted to the devil’s tortures. There must be some more rational rationale, shouldn’t there, some more reasonable appeal for believing in such an all-powerful God as the one and only higher and universal power. Of course, I would like to see her again, and that’s a sure-fire gotcha. The alternative in reason is the most down-to-Earth and mortal truth and requires me to realize that she has gone away, forever, never, in any way, shape or form to be seen again. I have only her likeness in mind and memory, and love grieving, in my whole body. I continue to wear the ring. Death has not parted us. I tried to take off the ring. One day, only. It is not finished. For now.

It is either that, or just never think of talking things over with God. Just let His spirit wash over you, wordless, silent. But we do need the words, don’t we, to sort of “communize” the effect.

Now everytime I listen to the preachers, Sunday morning televised evangelists, I hear a lot that might be taken as self-serving.
There is the muted, but persistent appeal for $ that goes along with the pep-talk and “Let’s hear an Amen!” It is a living. Oh, they mean well. They are a force for goodness, I think. But I wonder a lot about what is going on in their minds. Do they feel a duty to be there and listen? Is there constructive criticism of any kind? How does their life outside weekdays jibe with their religious experience of a God?

I am not anti-Christian. No. Never. I am pro-reason. There is some un-reason in Christianity. But Christian charities are wonderful services by dedicated people, for much good in the world. I am only stressing the “pro-reason” of my views. When unreason and reason collide, I will trust reason, and stand against Christian unreason. I will interpret unreason as the opening of the Bible, with the story of “creation”, when it was written, and the state of knowledge of the universe at that time. What was written was poetry, by a poet, using the imaginative figures of speech that poets are acccustomed to use. They had to use poetry for explaining. There was no other way of knowing, but only through the efforts of poets. That chapter was not written as the report of a scientist, with all of the substantiating evidence. It was, however, written as a matter of fact, but we can only choose to see it as something to be believed. That is the reader’s choice. It is, however, “pronounced” and preached as fact. That is unreason. That is one example of many more to be determined.

And of the tree of knowlege of good and evil, thou shall not eat. If you do, you die. I think a great number should be now dead, except for an equally great number of ignoramuses. That surely must go against the grain I am made of. I am doomed!

John-1 (in the Bible) got it right. “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” The “word”, language, speech, articulated, a time of the oral tradition; obviously, I have not studied the Bible. I am taking it at face value. All words are part of our system of symbols, the word in symbolic interaction, you with me and me back at you, symbols which stand “for” things that mostly have a tangible substance and that can be freely manupulated without having the substance in hand or observable by the eye, or apprehended by any of our other senses. I think that John-1, implying to me without knowing it, says that the “WORD” created “GOD”. Both the “WORD” and “GOD” are symbolic “beings”. The word effectively brought God into existence. The nature of words makes God possible, and can make anything possible. You say words, but you do not touch what you say, oftentimes. I can say touch a “house”, but you will ask, “Which one?” “House” is a “tangibility” to be made tangible. Is “God” a tangibility? I do not think so. God exists only in belief. Not everyone has that belief. God is a word, a symbolic being, only. I am symbolically condemned by believers. “Sticks and stones…”

I continue, thus, my quest to evaluate my way of belief in a-theism, or a-gnosticism, the religious orientation of doubt; a denial of ultimate knowledge of the existence of God. Because I am old. And alone, mostly. She is gone. She was my goddess. I still worship at her shrine, many in my memory, several hanging on my walls. I lived for years with the miracle of her presence. But never gooey like I am getting here. I did not know this was coming.

If I am any kind of tell, then I represent myself as knowing all that one can know, without revelation, with only reason and some imagination, that a God might have a plan requiring the human being originating in a chain of evolution to fulfill a plan of a reasonable, imaginative self-help program of legal, moral, democratic, imaginative, technologically inventive progress and empathetic initiative toward the perfection of human society. For self- and social-control, and then for global society, the same.

Let that be my first approximation of a non-religious thesis for life at this moment. My patch-work quilt of philosophical comfort.

P.S. (3-25-13) There is no one religion. There are many religions, each one organized differently from the rest. Why so many? Each cannot be a universal religion, even though one lays claim to being “universal”; that word “catholic” means universal. Anything that is “universal” references something that is defined as being something that is true at all time and all places, literally everywhere in the universe for all time past, present, and future. Something such as “pi”, or “entropy”, or the laws of thermodynamics, which I barely understand, but respect as universals. (Please help me name all the “universals”, like ????.) So, for one religion to make such a claim and announce itself as such is astoundingly arrogant and imperious. And totally untrue. Protestantism, as well as many other formulated systems of belief called religions, gives it the lie, “not universal” (catholic). And history bears me out! That is my understanding. And I am allowed to have it. I say it without any rancor, and with tolerance. Just a brief corrective. From the outside. By an outsider.

As a child, I lived with mom and dad in a flat by an alley paved with red bricks laid by WPA (Works Projects Administration of the great depression) workers. Immediately across the alley was another world, a beautiful large white, two-storied home, and a large grassy back yard with swings and a teeter-totter surrounded by flower beds, and a one-car garage at the back of the lot. The family had four daughters and one very small boy at the end of the line. We, on the other hand, had a wooden fence lining the bricks and enclosing the dirt and cement walk of our very small yard. The houses were one block from the St. Joseph Hospital where I was born. The Catholic Church was next to the hospital. The girls were Catholics. We argued in taunting fashion with the girls about religion across the fences and the alley. One day, the argument became so disruptive that the father of the girls came bounding out of his house without his shirt on and chased me around the block in his two strap undershirt and past the Catholic church in a rage against me for what reason I never knew. That event means nothing in the context of this essay. But it does come to mind, somehow. But I know what you must be thinking here. “Perhaps”, I’d say.

JFD, the only writer of this blog, says this: I have read all of the comments written on what I had to say in my essay on God and religion. Your comments have actually given me new life to look forward to. I was feeling pretty low, about my age, the loss of that lovely woman, my wife, causing me to fall into a sense of hopelessness, and other “downers”. But those positive comments helped buoy up my spirit. If people have enjoyed my writing, I am encouraged to feel better about proceeding to the next project I have in mind. You all have really helped me get on with some plans I have for continuing my life. Thank you. That is one sort of “miracle” I can believe in, sort of granting me a new liveliness, for which you have been somewhat responsible.

224 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more Now what if i told you there was a simple WordPress plugin that does all the On-Page SEO, and automatically for you? That’s right AUTOMATICALLY, just watch this 4minute video for more information at. Seo Plugin

    • I know! I know! I know! I know! I know! I know! I know! I know! I know! I know! I know! I know! I know! I know!———–I know! I know what I knowingly do not know, that I know! HOWEVER! I choose otherwise. Yet, I get this admonition over and over and over again. I choose to do it my way, probably at the expense of — what? I am refusing to learn, a rare instance in my lifetime. People still find me, somehow. Thanks, but no thank you. JFD, the one and only proprietor of this blog, permitted by WORDPRESS.

  2. Excellent work. I wanted to get hold of you regarding this post but your contact page form is not working.
    Are you able to email me through my e-mail?
    [I am soon going to take this all down. ALL! Sorry.]

  3. I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this
    blog. I’m hoping to see the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get
    my own, personal website now 😉

  4. Its not my first time to pay a visit this web site,
    i am browsing this website dailly and get nice data from here every day.

  5. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I
    hope you write again very soon!

  6. Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous
    to and you’re just extremely wonderful. I actually like what you’ve acquired here,
    certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still take care of to
    keep it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you.
    This is actually a terrific web site.

  7. Pretty сompoonent of content. Ӏ simply stumbled upon your blog and in accssion capital to assert that I acquire
    actuаlly enjiyed ɑccount your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscгibing on your
    feeds and even I fulfillment you access consistently quickly.

  8. Very quickly this web page will be famous
    amid all blog visitors, due to it’s good articles or reviews

  9. Hi there, I enjoy reading all of your article post.
    I wanted to write a little comment to support you.

  10. Great delivery. Solid arguments. Keep up the good spirit.

  11. Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s
    on a completely different subject but it has pretty much the same
    page layout and design. Outstanding choice of colors!

  12. Hi there! I’m ɑt wօrk browsing your blog from my neww iphonе
    3gs! Just waned to say I love reading through your blog and look forward ttο all
    your posts! Carry oon the great work!

  13. I am genuinely thankful to the owner of this website who has shared this impressive article at here.

  14. Ahaa, its fastidious conversation on the topic of this paragraph here at this web site, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

  15. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?
    My blog addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think
    we could greatly benefit from each other. If you happen to be interested feel free
    to shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Awesome blog by the way!
    [JFD says: No, thank you. Too busy with my “stuff”.]

  16. Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and in depth information you offer.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in
    a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material.
    Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  17. Thanks to my father who stated to me concerning this blog, this blog is
    truly remarkable.

  18. What i don’t understood is in fact how you’re
    not actually a lot more well-preferred than you might be now.
    You’re very intelligent. You realize therefore significantly when it comes to this matter, produced me personally imagine it from numerous numerous angles. Its like women and men are not fascinated until it’s
    one thing to do with Lady gaga! Your individual stuffs great.
    At all times deal with it up!

  19. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by
    searching for parties

  20. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this blog.
    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content by you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own site now 😉

  21. fantastic publish, very informative. I ponder why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this. You should proceed your writing. I’m
    sure, you have a great readers’ base already!

  22. Appreciation to my father who stated to me on the topic of this webpage, this webpage is truly amazing.

  23. Hey very nice blog!

  24. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very
    good results. If you know of any please share.
    Cheers!
    [JFD: Somewhere you will find the whole story of SEO on my blog Keep looking.
    I put it up once and I won’t repeat it.]

  25. I couldn’t resist commenting. Perfectly written!

  26. That is very interesting, You are an overly professional blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and stay up for looking for extra of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks

  27. Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is excellent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about The Plan of God with a Laissez-Faire Policy | A Deliberative Mind: Proactive Reflective Prescient Egalitarian .

  28. great points altogether, you simply received a emblem new reader.

    What could you recommend about your put up that you simply made some days ago?
    Any sure?
    [JFD: I do not understand the question.]

  29. Very good article! We will be linking to this particularly great content on our site.
    Keep up the good writing.

  30. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  31. I am in fact thankful to the owner of this web page who
    has shared this impressive post at at this time.

  32. Hi there, the whole thing is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that’s actually excellent, keep up writing.

  33. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after looking at a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m definitely happy I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

  34. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to
    mention that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be
    subscribing for your feed and I am hoping you write again
    very soon!

  35. Saved as a favorite, I love your site!

  36. Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this web site daily, this website is really fastidious and the visitors are in fact sharing nice thoughts.

  37. Nice post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful information particularly the final section 🙂 I handle such information a lot. I was seeking this certain info for a long time. Thanks and good luck.

  38. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  39. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

  40. Thanks for any other great article. The place else may just anyone get that
    kind of information in such a perfect means of writing?
    I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I am at the look for such information.

  41. Fine way of telling, and pleasant piece of writing to obtain data concerning my presentation subject matter, which i am going to present in school.

  42. It’s going to be ending of mine day, however before finish I am reading this great piece of writing to improve my know-how.

  43. I do not know whether it’s just me or if everybody else encountering problems with your site. It appears as though some of the written text on your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This could be a problem with my web browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Thank you


Leave a Reply

