A Cross-Species Higher Power — An Animal’s Deity?

On a TV news program, I saw an example of the performance of an act of a higher power for a member of another species.

A man in full diving gear was working at some task deep in the ocean. A very large dolphin swam up to the man and nudged him with that long dolphin nose. The diver turned from his task to see what was happening. I am certain that the diver may have felt some small threat, seeing such a large, undersea animal facing him.

But in a moment, the diver saw something hanging on the animal. It was a large strand of wire wrapped around the animal. He took out a cutting tool he had hanging in his toolbelt and cut the wire loose. I do not know if the wire was barbed.

When the dolphin was free, he swam away a bit, turned around, and came back to the man and nudged him again. That, no doubt, was a thank-you nudge.

Think of what thought process the dolphin was capable of, finding a line of reasoning his way out his predicament. He associated the human with some kind of savior power to be trusted, to save him, an answer to a dolphin’s prayer. The animal must have had some previous experience that warranted that faith. A belief that the man was safe, helpful, benevolent, and had the know-how to do the job, must have been learned from some previous encounter, stored in a long memory. Or maybe not, that it was just a bright idea, and he lucked out. Or it may have thought of this man as a last resort, hazard all, and gamble that he is right for the rescue.

Will that dolphin be able to communicate his story to others of his species? Starting a myth of that human savior with mythical power to deliver all his bretheren from their troubles?

That animal of the sea may become a Moses of the species. But conveying that “supernatural” experience may be too difficult to communicate, unless he can demonstrate his experience to the pod in some mock-up of the original.

Such a story made me feel wonder and awe as I recall what I had seen, raising all sorts of questions about ………?

[JFD, 1-23-2013]

Published in: on January 23, 2013 at 8:19 pm  Comments (72)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/a-cross-species-higher-powermdashan-animals-deity/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

72 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey there! I’ve been following your website for some time now and finally
    got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout
    out from Huffman Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the good work!

  2. It’s awesome for me to have a website, which is valuable designed for my
    experience. thanks admin

  3. Thanks , I’ve recently been looking for information approximately this topic for
    a while and yours is the best I have discovered till now.
    However, what concerning the conclusion? Are you positive about the source?

  4. Hi there, after reading this awesome paragraph i am also glad to share my familiarity here with mates.

  5. Hi there to every , since I am truly keen of reading this web site’s post to be updated regularly.
    It includes fastidious information.

  6. Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?

    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult
    time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!
    [JFD says: See my front page—WordPress, free, great themes!]

  7. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much
    about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.

    I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful blog.
    A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

  8. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Many thanks, However I am going
    through problems with your RSS. I don’t know why I am unable to subscribe to it.
    Is there anybody else getting identical RSS problems?
    Anybody who knows the answer will you kindly respond?

    Thanx!!

  9. I was very pleased to discover this site. I need to
    to thank you for ones time just for this fantastic
    read!! I definitely savored every bit of it and i also have you book-marked to
    look at new things on your site.

  10. I can read about this all day!! With luck , you’ve got an RSS feed I’m able to sign
    up to. We have all been really on the lookout around
    the web just for material in regards to stream online movies reviews.

  11. I do not even know the way I finished up right here,
    but I thought this publish was once good. I don’t recognise who you might be but certainly you’re going
    to a famous blogger in case you are not already.
    Cheers!

  12. Ridiculous story there. What occurred after? Thanks!

  13. I found this weblog very interesting and I just wanna thanks for that. I hope you keep up the great work!

  14. These are in fact great ideas in about blogging. You
    have touched some pleasant points here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  15. Thanks for posting this awesome information. Keep up this great job. I’ll subscribe to your blog also. thnx!

  16. Keep on working, great job!


Leave a Reply

