The Abscissa and Ordinate of Everyday Life

Disclaimer: I am not a mathematician. Somehow I remembered those technical terms. Please do not be too harsh at my mistakes. I think you can get the idea, that I am trying to lay out an orderly view of everyday complications in order to simplify and meet my responsibilities. When she died, the budget task fell to me. Is my conception of it sound?

The “ordinate”, the vertical, or y-coordinate, of my life contains the continuing material concerns of life and daily living in a two-dimensional system of concerns. The “abscissa” is
the X-axis, the horizontal plane of points of time of life in days, weeks, and months over a year. The square where “x” and “y” converge contains the $ amount. A summation of total costs for each time period is entered at the bottom. At every intersection point of x and y (time by item by dollars), I pay a price, a toll, to the troll under that bridge, in legal tender of my admission to more time on the bridge to my future life.

I am daily putting my resources on the line, actually on the convergence of the two dimensions of material requirements and the toll. In some places it is called a “budget”. x by y.

These are the material demands of living, on the y-coordinate:

  1. Home Energy (Gas, Electric).
  2. Transportation Energy (Gas).
  3. Water.
  4. Garbage.
  5. Entertainment (Television, Movies, Theater, Rentals, etc.).
  6. Computer and Printer and materials.
  7. Recreation.
  8. Shelter.
  9. Food. (Groceries. Restaurants.)
  10. Community Government Taxes and Assessments.
  11. Local Government Taxes and Assessments.
  12. State Government Taxes.
  13. Federal Government Taxes (Social Security, Medicare).
  14. Transportation (Autos, Fuel, Insurance, Maintenance).
  15. Travel.
  16. Information (Newspapers, Books, Magazines, Radios.)
  17. Insurance (Home, Life, Other).
  18. Health, Medical.
  19. Fitness, Hardware.
  20. Gifts.
  21. Charity.
  22. Implements and Tools.
  23. Grooming Landscape.
  24. Grooming Self.
  25. Clothing (Purchase. Cleaning.)
  26. Repairs.
  27. Savings (Retirement).
  28. Investments.
  29. Pets.
  30. Communication (Phones, Cel, Land line.).
  31. Burial.
  32. Legal Advice and Legacy.

Or, why don’t I just go out and buy a household budget program!

Hmmm! 32 items. My lined sheet has only 30 lines. And only 24 columns across. Ah, me. Now what?

I may come back to this and make more comments on each item, as ideas occur to me. The list is essentially an outline of the near whole of material life and living. But where would my beliefs fall? What costs are there for such intangibles as beliefs, political stances, and so forth? Is there such a thing as a moral and ethical assay that can be made so tangible as household expenses?

Published in: on March 10, 2013 at 1:21 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2013/03/10/the-abscissa-and-ordinate-of-everyday-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Unquestionably imagine that which you said. Your favourite
    reason seemed to be at the web the simplest thing to take into account of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about
    concerns that they just don’t know about. You controlled to hit the nail upon
    the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people
    can take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

  2. Great information. Lucky me I came across your
    site by chance (stumbleupon). I have saved it for later!

  3. I do consider all of the ideas you have introduced to your post.
    They are very convincing and will definitely
    work. Still, the posts are too brief for starters. Could you please lengthen them a bit from
    subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  4. I’m looking for a qualified writer, long time within this location. Outstanding post!


Leave a Reply

