“GOD” — Again!

I have had much to say lately about the subject of religion and “God”. I am getting closer to my final word on the subject. I am mainly writing all this on the subject of religion because I am in a crisis situation regarding a death in the family. Sympathetic folks always say something like, “Believe me, you will be with her again in a better place.” AS comfort to the aggrieved.

I have come to the conclusion that I am not an “atheist”, as my thoughtful expressions would have one believe. I thought I was, but I have come to a refinement as I examine it more closely. I am not one without a thesis (since that is what the word literally means); hence, not an atheist. Close, maybe, and perhaps in the eyes of others. It probably doesn’t matter to any on-looker, but it may to my family. To codify a religious belief, the belief must have a struggle with the universal quandry of good and evil, light and darkness, truth and falsehood, personified to make it more real and immediate, threatening with whips and scorns, or rewards of eternal life and paradise. The organizers must have a system of rewards and punishments to properly “condition” those who come to them for help with personal anguish. And life certainly has mountains of that anguish to climb in the ordeals of living!

The original organizers, over two millenia of the gradual accretion of codes and ritual and excavations and cathedrals and artifacts, have the majesty and systematic organization and indoctrination of the young down to a catechism, the book summarizing the principles of the religion, written as questions and answers for inculcation of the young. They have had their dissenters, breaking off into a new organization over some differences, and that was good for those dissenters to get away from the monopoly which looked like a good thing, and so there was the whole business opened up for all types of new organizing principles.

Therefore, when I reason to my own end, I realize I am not an “a-theist”, without a thesis. Any “thesis” about religion is an unprovable proposition. The ultimate appeal is to “belief”, devotion to that belief on pain of, whatever will discourage more free-thinking. The very thing that must be organized is such a way of thinking that people will feel “belief” to be factual, real, consequential, urgent truth, with an “or else-ness”. The organizers find that personification of characters in a grand struggle is dramatic, and the organizers eminently resort to pageantry and drama. At one time, the drama was burning heretics on a square downtown. At another, the organizers sent whole armies on crusades against the heresies threatening their organization.

There is still today the incipient warfare divided between a more populist politics and a way of crusading religious life.

Here in the United States today, the organizers have been tamed somewhat, by a lawful hands-off freedom of belief.

I am not one without a belief. I have a thesis, my unproved and unprovable statement of my point of view based on a lifetime of observation, the empirical “data” of my a posteriori perceptions of what I can state are the facts of my observations, the way people behave. If there is that higher power of a deity, to which believers must attribute some sort of miracle, which stands as evidence of the intervention of that deity into everyday life, then I have not seen anything but theatre. Most everyday uses of that word miracle are for such events as the “miracle on the Hudson”. To me, the miracle was widely reported as such but it only came down to everything going according to plan. The survival had been practiced and anticipated in the manufacture of the airplane and the training of th crew.

In a previous essay, I stated my thesis, which was not total disbelief. It was my belief that God, if it is a “he” or “father”, if it was the “creator of the universe”, is a tantalizing object of righteous, religious organizers of beliefs to offer some admirable goodness activities, and it has a “hands-off” or “laissez-faire” policy of operation and is not a part of everyday life, listening to prayers and answering prayers of those in trouble. Such beliefs have some power to motivate extraordinary exertions for good ends, no doubt.

I am not an atheist, one without a thesis. But my thesis views any higher power, or deity, as having no part in controlling nor intervening in human life on Earth. Good things can come out of prayer. That cannot disprove my thesis.

Look up the word “agnostic” please. Perhaps that is a better fit, meaning, a person who claims that he cannot have true knowledge about the existence of God (but does not deny that God might exist). That means, a fence sitter, doesn’t it. I say it again, if God “exists”, I do not know where it is, or how to prove it. Its policy is “laissez-faire” as far as Earthlings go. Any church must have a difficult time with the concept of the “miracle”. They are nice to have, in order to give its believers that confidently strong feeling that God is near and imminent and available and will, on occasion, actually play, openly, some material and specific part in the individual human’s life. One church must have specific proof of that provable, demonstrable intervention in human affairs. That would create a “saint”. Otherwise, the church might just have to adopt the suggested “laissez-faire” policy to be the plan of action of the deity, “hands off”. Belief is good. But do not expect the deity to play a part in your private affairs, for which you are solely responsible. Any reckoning will take place, according to your belief, at another time and place.

You might say that I am treating the concept of God as an enterprise, an organization constituting a business venture in the name of God. You might say that your tithe is a religious tax. And the profits go to —, oh, you contemplate that a bit.

Just say that I am a “Doubting Thomas”. I read that part of the story. I might consider Thomas to be the first prominent scientist. He had the scientists’ basic skepticism. He wanted to be shown the evidence that would support the claim. It was Jesus who rebuked him for his scientific bent. Thomas said, “Except I shall see in his hands the print of the nails…I will not believe.” Later, Jesus said, “Thomas, because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed. Blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed.” (John 20, 26-29) Jesus had to prove it before Thomas would believe it. Of course, Jesus was speaking in an age and a culture that had not developed the basic operating principles of scientific proofs for producing reliable knowledge. Thomas was not appreciated for what he stood for. That age was to be far into the future for those times.

Am I bound for HELL?

Post Script (4-4-13): What is truly my God? What do I worship? Classical melody and harmony of music I associate with that beauty in my spouse. She is still evocative of the beauties of classic and classy classical music, a warm and sunny day of light breezes, the company of family who are stars, contemplation of a great work for the betterment of human life (as in the book I am trying to write). What I worship comes to tears in those associations. I am lonely. I was a loner before I married. Now, a loner again. Your God does not look like me nor I Him. The closest I can come to a God-form is the scientific and artistic expressions of magnificent intelligence. That breaks down to shards of God in many places, and I can see trashy attempts that fail. As in people who let themselves go, for one example, in appearance and short-cut deeds of the ungovernable. Right now, I am specializing in my gaze on politicians.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2013/03/20/god-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

50 Comments

  1. This site was… how do you say it? Relevant!

    ! Finally I have found something that helped me.

    Thank you!

  2. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also
    with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this
    one nowadays.
    [Read my front page to answer your question. JFD]

  3. you are actually a just right webmaster. The site loading velocity is
    incredible. It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick.
    Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a wonderful job in this matter!

  4. Hello, yes this piece of writing is truly nice and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging.
    thanks.

  5. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just
    extremely fantastic. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a tremendous website.

  6. Very quickly this site will be famous amid all blog people, due to
    it’s nice articles

  7. Someone necessarily assist to make severely posts
    I might state. That is the first time I frequented your
    website page and up to now? I surprised with the analysis you made to make this actual post incredible.
    Great activity!

  8. If you are going for most excellent contents like myself,
    just go to see this web site everyday because it offers feature contents, thanks

  9. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say you have done a amazing job with this. In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Opera. Outstanding Blog!

  10. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle
    for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.
    [Thank you for the $ compliment.]
    Chat soon!

  11. First of all I would like to say fantastic blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I have had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints? Appreciate it!

    • [JFD says: I cannot identify with that problem. In my case,
      I am completely taken over by an idea, the whole of it beginning with one long
      solid sentence that will generate all the rest easily enough.
      You’ve got to have lots to say, and a background that will provide it.
      Without that, your writing will be hard. A background is the hardest to
      repair. Takes time, study, involvement, wide interests, a good brain
      inherited and improved by study. JUST START! SCRIBBLE! CORRECT IN RE-WRITE.
      in the writing, it balloons.]

  12. I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem.
    You’re incredible! Thanks!
    [Thank you. Written by JFD, author and “owner and operator” of this blog.]

  13. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  14. Wonderful article! We will be linking to this great post on our site.

    Keep up the great writing.

  15. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this content together.
    I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  16. I seldom leave comments, but i did some searching and wound up here GOD – Again!
    | A Deliberative Mind: Proactive Reflective Prescient Egalitarian.
    And I do have a couple of questions for you if you usually do
    not mind. Could it be just me or does it look like
    a few of these responses come across like they are coming
    from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online sites, I’d like to follow everything new you have to post. Could you make a list of every one of your public pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • (1) I have no other social media, none of it but this. (2) I get that “brain dead” a lot. I explain some cases as people not writing in their native language, which would explain some of the problem of diction. I am wholly inclined to understand and tolerate. Others, as I keep saying when I have responded to that comment elsewhere, are not careful with the grammar of English. It seems to me that the informality of web-talk gives alicense to write like fugitives from their old ogre English teachers, so they write slop with a vengeance! On the web, anything goes, they believe. I cannot forgive that. They are not brain dead; their brain takes a long vacation from responsibility. Then, too, they want to fit in with all the others who have a fear of putting on airs for fear of ostracism. OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT. I will now select and copy this and save it for the next one who say that thing about brain-dead contributors. WHOOPEE! Now I never have to type this out ever again. Just select and paste. AH-h-h-h-h–yes! sHOULD HAVE DONE THIS LONG AGO! (3) Also, I think there is some secret message being included in some comments about “Brussels”. Anyone know what it is? The phrase shows up occasionally like an imbedded secret message to others of which I am innocent. I always erase it. (Zu Ende)

  17. Hello! I realize this is kind of off-topic but
    I had to ask. Does managing a well-established blog such as yours take a massive amount
    work? I’m completely new to operating a blog but I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I
    can share my own experience and feelings online. Please let
    me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.
    Appreciate it!

    • Yes. A blog is like a puppy you have to feed and groom each day. Depends on how popular yours is. People will write comments and you must accept or reject them, or answer any questions they have. Also, keep writing as often as you have ideas to contribute. You could become a slave to the continuation of the blog over time. Then there is the “spam”, or unwanted responses. Very frustrating. Learn some basic HTML. Get a small reference book on it so you can machine-talk as the need may arise. There is such a thing as “SEO” that you should learn in order to get the public to find you. I ignored that aspect and many people wrote comments that I should use that for getting my content picked up by GOOGLE. I get plenty of traffic, enough for me. I am content. But they make it sound like I could have much more traffic if I would do some things in the content to catch the eye of the scavengers such as GOOGLE. Remember, SEO. Happy blogging! [JFD]

  18. I think the admin of this website is actually working hard in support
    of his web site, as here every data is quality based stuff.

  19. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent.
    I actually like what you have acquired here,
    certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a great website.

  20. Hello, yes this post is actually pleasant and I have learned lot of
    things from it about blogging. thanks.

  21. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than
    just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and all.
    But just imagine if you added some great pictures or videos to
    give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this site could undeniably be one
    of the best in its field. Good blog!

    • I am so sorry you didn’t like reading as much
      as you should have liked. I often get this
      comment. I cannot figure out what’s behind it.
      I think there is a certain kind of “mind” that
      needs that extra “pop”, as you say. You imply
      I need pictures to illustrate, just like the
      funny papers with cartoon like characters,
      for people who are accustomed to reading
      the pictures of the cartoonist more as an
      assist to their understanding. The “pop”
      is in their drawings. My experience has
      been reading the great novels of English and
      American literary history, before I
      graduated to the writings of the great
      non-fiction authors of science and philosophy
      and literary criticism and theatre
      comedies and dramas. So, I learned to read
      without anything to illustrate what was
      being written. In that, my mind took a different turn. My imagination, the images that are produced by the stimulus of “words” as the representatives of realities moving stories forward in those worlds so strange to me, and I could see through the words to the reality which they stood for. That’s imagination, like projections on the screen of my mind. Apparently your mind has missed the reading exercise as an ability to see through the words to their referents out there in the real world. I outgrew comic books when I widened my reading field. My mind was hungry for that experience, which can take anyone far, far greater distances than the comic book experience, for, I believe you want IMAGES, stationary or moving, but IMAGES, IMAGES, PICTURES, all because your mind has missed crossing the bridge to that land of imagination. My articles deal with abstractions, and I try to present definitions that are active to enliven the meaning of certain concept words. I feel I am pushing ideas through language more than I am pushing ideas through pictures. My writing is not for you. And many others who have said what you have said. I put out there what I can, expressing me, my style, my “vision”, which deals in words for religion, politics, science, poetry, theatre, ideology, teaching, living, health, and above all and in all, life and death and reason. I believe you will have to abandon reading any more of my writings. Or, just read and understand what you can. Leave it at that.

  22. Hi there to every one, the contents existing at this website
    are in fact awesome for people experience, well,
    keep up the nice work fellows.

  23. I am actually grateful to the holder of this website who has shared this fantastic paragraph
    at at this place.

  24. Why users still make use of to read news papers when in this technological world all is available on net?

  25. Ahaa, its nice discussion on the topic of this article at
    this place at this weblog, I have read all that, so now me also commenting here.

  26. It’s fantastic that you are getting ideas from this article as well as from our discussion made at this time.

  27. If you want to obtain a good deal from this article then you have to apply such
    methods to your won webpage.

  28. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as smartly as with
    the format for your blog. Is this a paid topic or did you customize it your self?

    Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it is uncommon to
    look a nice blog like this one these days..

    [JFD says: Free theme, WordPress]

  29. This is a topic which is near to my heart… Take care! Exactly where
    are your contact details though?
    {JFD says: This is it!]

  30. Hello there, You have done an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

  31. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re
    just too great. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can’t
    wait to read far more from you. This is actually a tremendous website.

  32. Good day I am so excited I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

  33. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is excellent,
    as well as the content!
    [Since 2006.]

  34. May I simply say what a relief to discover somebody who actually knows what they’re talking about online. You certainly understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more people need to check this out and understand this side of the story. I was surprised that you aren’t more popular since you certainly have
    the gift.

  35. For most recent news you have to visit world wide web and on web
    I found this web page as a finest web site for most
    recent updates.

  36. When someone writes an paragraph he/she keeps the plan of a user in
    his/her mind that how a user can be aware of it.
    So that’s why this paragraph is great. Thanks!

  37. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad
    and tested to see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can
    be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83
    views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  38. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.

    Your site provided us with valuable info to work on.
    You’ve done an impressive job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  39. Thank you for the good writeup. It actually used to be a entertainment
    account it. Glance advanced to more introduced agreeable from you!
    However, how could we be in contact?
    [Through these comments.]

  40. Hi, its good post on the topic of media print, we all know media is a great
    source of information.

  41. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but
    great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this information
    for my mission.

  42. Good information. Lucky me I recently found your site by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

  43. Hello are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get
    started and create my own. Do you require any coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!
    [JFD Says: Not much. I bought a small book on html and learned a few things,
    but WordPress provides free themes and free blogs. Top rated hosting.]

  44. Hello friends, fastidious article and fastidious arguments commented here, I am truly enjoying by these.

  45. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like
    you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home
    a bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog.
    A great read. I’ll certainly be back.


Comments are closed.

