My “Profanity”

They, “they” being church men, say we are made in God’s image. It may also be said that God is made in our image, as depicted anthropomorphically. As a father, a man. Probably, for convenience sake, for lack of any other genderless likeness. Everything about God was created Biblically.
(There are the devout who will be thinking, “Ah, there’s a guy certainly headed for hell, and the wrath of God, the way he talks and thinks.” My Christian youth also speaks to me now in that same vein, as a voice from the past.)
My views may, no, will be considered profane. That means, outside of the temple, not to be admitted inside the temple. Or, for viewing by the eyes of the initiates only. My views are unholy, not consecrated, and not to be admitted into the temple for viewing by all. As I have learned, there is a part of the holiest of places (a private library and museum of the one “universal” denomination) devoted to all the profanities that have ever been created on Earth, systematically collected and stored for the education of the initiates, who will never ever show a hint of naïvité when those profanities arise in their ministering to the faithful
If it was in the power of God to create life, then it must follow that He created death for everything, to include the planet Earth. Was there a reason? for death? Could there have been a cause for not allowing immortal life? It falls within my view that life was put into the heart and mind of each individual to shorten or prolong the life span, which was to be determined by the individual mastery of self.
But immortality, that could have been created, but was not. Was there a function of mortality that was preferable to immortality? Being the greater good for life on Earth? It was the survival of the species that was the greater good over that of the individual. For what reason?
There are those living who deserve to have a life-span shortened and are exhibits of that shortened end. There are those living who have earned a longer life span and have exhibited that model behavior. Each person is born into a life sentence. Life-span is now lengthening incrementally. Anyone can speculate about the reasons.
Survival of the species by beefing up education with better habits?
We know that there are mass extinctions. There will be another mass extinction of Earth, even, perhaps, before our species is brought to extinction by such attitudes as ignoring global warming. It has been foretold. Science is the messenger.
Perhaps the hunt for other planets like Earth may be the vehicle to save life as we know it, somewhere else. A carrot dangled by the God of reason? (A view of the “hands-off”, “laissez-faire”, “do-it- yourself by reason” God which I favor.)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emergent79.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/my-profanity/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your next
    write ups thanks once again.

  2. That is the proper weblog for anybody who needs to seek out out about this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Great stuff, simply nice!

  3. Oakley Jawbone

    Your article is here, the feeling of a mere individual can bring in more.Let these people from poles to polesthe world, even in the heart with eudaemonia. We are not solitary.
    [JFD lookup: eudaimonia, upbeat, well-being, wellbeing, welfare]

  4. I enjoy you because of all your effort on this web site. Betty delights in engaging in internet research and it’s simple to grasp why. A number of us learn all relating to the compelling form you present advantageous techniques on the blog and in addition attract participation from some other people on this subject while my child is without a doubt starting to learn so much. Have fun with the rest of the year. You are performing a fantastic job.

    • (JFD says: I submitted your long paragraph to GOOGLE translate. I could not understand any of the references made, which probably had a deeper meaning to you. I cannot put up on my blogs what I do not understand. And I do not welcome the essays of others unless they reference something I have said which is being disputed or supported and reinforced. That is my policy. Why don’t you say in English what it was that you meant to convey by including that long paragraph in a foreign language?]

  5. Hello, you used to write great, but the last few posts have been kinda boring… I miss your super writings. Past few posts are just a little out of track! come on!

  6. Good write-up, I’m normal visitor of one’s blog, maintain up the excellent operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

  7. This article is really splendid, people do not realize the author’s writing situations. I want to introduce it to more people, so the more the body will be such a okay feeling.

  8. Together with almost everything which seems to be developing within this specific area, your points of view are rather stimulating. Nevertheless, I am sorry, because I do not subscribe to your entire suggestion, all be it exhilarating none the less. It would seem to us that your remarks are actually not completely justified and in fact you are generally yourself not totally certain of your argument. In any case I did enjoy examining it.

    • Definitely NOT TOTALLY CERTAIN! There is no certainty either way. I doubt. I am a “doubting Thomas”, and, like him, I desire to have some evidence, besides wordy assertions. [JFD]

  9. Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is wonderful, as well as the content!

  10. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a weblog web site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I have been tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast offered brilliant clear idea.

  11. Great website. A lot of useful info here. I’m sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks for your effort!

  12. Excellent post. Of course for the orthodox church, everything is profanity unless they said it. As for death, it’s merely an illusion. The only thing that dies(decays) is matter. As Einstein said, energy can neither be created or destroyed. Thus, we are in a manner of speaking – immortal. That was the true message of the resurrection – that the spirit survives death.

    • Is there evidence that a “spirit” exists? Where? Survives? Can be seen? Has a form? Or substance?
      If you believe it exists? How do you know? Does the spirit have “matter”? For you, it is a “belief”.
      A belief exists only as a statement in the words of your language. You say it, and that is the extent of
      its existence. You simply have to believe and that’s that! I can see spirit move people at a football game.
      Spirit can be a moving force, a motivated action, which I see as “energized” behavior, but after the act
      ceases the spirit yields to , maybe, fatigue, tiredness from all the spirited activity. And so on, as we get
      on the spirit-go-round, and around, and around. I saw a photo once that was supposed to be a picture
      of a ghostly spirit leaving the body of a person who had just died. Or ectoplasm, from spiritualism,
      a substance supposed to emanate from the body of the medium during a trance.
      There are people who would like and are trying to get photos of a spirit or ghost or soul
      of a dying body. But it comes down to, BELIEF. A mind-set, a mentality, the habitual or characteristic mental
      attitude that determines how you will interpret and respond to situations. Belief is that mindset.
      I believe that it is fraught with prejudging, or a built in prejudice (belief, orthodoxy) that is not susceptible to
      logical analysis, reason. That mind is made up, was made up long ago and has a very strong resistance to
      any alternative whatsoever. The stronghold of the mind made up. Belief is powerful stuff, probably there from
      childhood brainwashing (because a child does not have the resistance capabilities, and, therefore, coercive
      persuasion, which defines brainwashing. Although there was nothing to wash, in the case of the child.
      Anyone with a strong belief system will be the “tough nut to crack”. The best tool is a long process of
      education, the wide reading and study of the advanced or tertiary education and a grounding in the methodologies
      of science and reliable knowledge. Well, I did not know I was going to give a lecture. I retired
      from that many years ago. [JFD. Author of this blog.]

    • [JFD, author of this blog, says:] Click on the April 4, 2013, comment author above “chicagoja”. That fellow has some great stuff in the same vein, except he knows more about religion and the religion than I do–like he’s a scholar in that field, has had much study. I never studied religion. All I know comes from my attendance at a Baptist church when I was young (and that was long ago). What I know comes from my own observation of myself as a believer some time ago. I generate ideas through reasoning and definition. Of course, I was referring to the Vatican library as the repository of all the “profane” material in the world, “for the Church’s eyes only” (pro-fane).


Leave a Reply

