The Inter-Faith Service for the Boston Bombing: One Thing Missing

Recently, the “Boston Marathon Bombing” catastrophe occasioned an inter-faith service. The meeting was appropriate and beautifully spoken by all the presenters. Impressive. But I must demur. In each of the last two services, A PRESUMPTION HAS BEEN MADE that ought to be corrected, forever! One segment of the population was omitted. What is that presumption?

It is consistently and continually presumed that humanists or agnostics have no faith. That is a prejudgment. WE DO! Therefore, they had no presence in YOUR inter-faith services. YOUR blind thinking wants only organized religious denominations to be represented. Agnostics do have a belief system, called a philosophy, and a faith even though they may not have an organization with a power in organized numbers behind it to compel attention.

It is a faith “at large” with the method of reason promoting human welfare and humanitarianism. Yes, it may be secular, a cultural movement, and highly individual, but we would recognize and identify with some one speaking about that school of thought that puts the individual human being gazing squarely into the face of evil, and mayhem, and unreason, and speaking for the force that buoys up a large segment of human life on this globe.

There are many great humanists who should be asked to speak and represent us humanists.

People of religious faiths have failed to include, twice now, a humanist or agnostic or atheist to represent a growing segment of the population of the United States. Your premise that overlooks some great members of this society is fatally flawed with what? prejudice? ignorance? denominationalism? supernaturalism? narrow-mindedness?

Please, in the future, show some of the competence of reasonable adults! Do not be afraid of independent thinkers who may use different pathways toward the same end as the doctrinaire. Believe it, there are some great thinkers in our society who share my view. You show yourselves fearful, of what? That service about the bombing of the marathon was good. But there was some representation missing. I felt it. I resented it. I wanted to hear my point of view applied to that moment. There may have been a humanist among those attacked and hurt or killed.

I hope we do not have to have another such memorial rite. Without that sort of wickedness we can do. But —

13 Comments

  1. This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep a
    reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost
    moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!)
    Great job. I really loved what you had to
    say, and more than that, how you presented
    it. Too cool!

  2. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular article!

    It is the little changes that will make the greatest changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

  3. Its such as you read my mind! You appear to grasp so much about this, like you wrote the e book
    in it or something. I think that you just can do with some p.
    c. to power the message home a little bit, but other than that, that
    is fantastic blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

  4. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal. I must say that you’ve done a excellent job
    with this. Additionally, the blog loads very fast
    for me on Chrome. Exceptional Blog!

  5. I pay a quick visit day-to-day a few websites and websites to read
    articles, except this weblog presents quality based articles.

  6. Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely
    enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.
    [JFD: I do none of that. This is it.]

  7. I visited several web sites except the audio quality for audio songs
    existing at this web page is in fact marvelous.

  8. I am no longer certain where you are getting your info, however great topic.
    I needs to spend a while studying much more or understanding
    more. Thank you for excellent information I was looking for this information for
    my mission.
    [JFD says: From my creative thinking. I made it all up from my experience.]

  9. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you
    [JFD says: I have absolutely no idea. Never been there!]

  10. At this time I am going to do my breakfast, once having my
    breakfast coming over again to read additional news.

  11. fantastic points altogether, you just gained a emblem new reader.

    What might you recommend in regards to your publish that you just made a
    few days ago? Any positive?
    [Not sure what you mean, but there has been no commenting.]

  12. I almost never leave a response, but after reading a few of
    the responses on The Inter-Faith Service for the Boston Bombing:
    One Thing Missing | A Deliberative Mind: Proactive Reflective Prescient Egalitarian.
    I do have a few questions for you if it’s okay. Could it be just me or does it look like some of these remarks look like they are left by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional online sites, I’d like to keep
    up with everything new you have to post. Would you list of every one of all your shared sites like
    your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • Pinned to the top of this blog is an article about all your questions.


Comments are closed.

