To the Man of the House —

A Letter from the Woman of the House
Imagined by a Man Who Did It,
and Wished He Had Done More!
For Mother’s Day
Sunday, May 12, 2013)

(She has been gone over a year now, but I reminisce like this.)

(I am certain that a woman would have written this better than I have. I merely wanted to drop a hint to the man of the house. I am hoping a husband will read this and rise to the occasion, on his own initiative, doing the right thing, at the right time, at the right place, with the right spirit, without being told. That’s initiative!)

Dear Hubby,

Since I am your wife and helpmate, I need to ask you for a favor. We have already had several years together and I have been cooking for you, and there are more years to come. Perhaps a thousand more meals a year. Which you have appreciated, as you said. I enjoy taking food into recipes that we all like. And I certainly appreciated the many times you have complimented me. And made me feel rewarded for having shopped and stored and assembled all those ingredients in dishes you have relished with appreciation.

Since we are going to be together for five years more, and a lifetime after that, that would be 1,825 days, and counting. Three meals a day would be 5,475 potential breakfasts, lunches, and dinners. Discount that by 30% for eating out or dropping some for other reasons, and you still have 3,833 meals, for which I would be cooking, washing dishes and all the other kitchen duties, shopping, baking, and so on. Roughly. Go figure! I am not complaining. I do it gladly. I like to cook. If that is the picture, and I have watched a lot of women do it and have helped them, at times. And I cooked for myself for many years.

There is an important thing you can do for me and I would appreciate having your help. I know you work hard to bring the income to pay the bills. But I need to ask you to rescue me from some drudgery, your help, above and beyond. This would be a huge “pick-me-up” (off the kitchen floor) if you would please help me with the scraping, cleaning, drying and storing the dishware and cookpots and utensils after we eat?

Maybe the kids could take over one of those chores, like the scraping, the drying or the storing, and carrying out the garbage.

I know after work you are tired and want to relax, sit down, read the paper and watch the news on TV, while I clean up. But I would also like to do those things. And I could, if…. And we could do them together.

That would be lovely. And lovingly done. And another chance to talk. About the day. Gossip. Problms. Ideas. Chat stuff. The great imponderables of the world and life. You know, getting along, without the newspapers and tv. Just the two of us in review. Love. Over the chores we share. I’ll wash. You wipe.

No, you wash! I’ll wipe.

Yours, Truly, Forever, Regardless.
Your Helpmeet,
(Sign, Date)__________________________
R.S.V.P.

[Remembering Her]

Published in: on April 22, 2013 at 4:34 pm  Comments (14)  

14 Comments

  1. I read this post completely regarding the resemblance of most up-to-date and previous technologies, it’s
    amazing article.

  2. Hi, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in
    Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I
    just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, fantastic blog!
    you can certainly free facebook likes, Facebook fans/likes and Vimeo landscapes
    and also reviews.
    how to get facebook likes to get facebook marketing and marketing
    Have you ever calmly wondered how you can get more likes on facebook upon facebook?
    (REPLY: JFD says: I do not do Facebook a or any other sort of self-promotion. This only.
    About that technical trouble I have no knowledge of cause or effect. Sorry. On my
    CPU it works fine.)

  3. It is virtually not feasible to find educated males and females about this topic, however you seem to be exactly what happens you might be taking care of! Thanks

  4. bookmarked!!, I like your site!

  5. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like
    you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with
    a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this
    is wonderful blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

  6. Very shortly this web site will be famous amid all blogging visitors, due to
    it’s pleasant articles or reviews

  7. of course like your web-site but you have to check the spelling on
    quite a few of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I
    find it very bothersome to inform the reality nevertheless I’ll certainly come again again.
    [RIFE????? Prove it!!!! –JFD]

  8. Undeniably believe that that you said. Your favourite justification appeared to be
    on the net the easiest thing to understand of. I say to you, I definitely
    get annoyed even as other folks think about worries that they plainly don’t recognize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the entire thing with no need side effect , folks can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

  9. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up. The text in your post seem to be running off the screen in Ie.

    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The layout look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved
    soon. Kudos

  10. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!

    I’d certainly donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll
    settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

    • Thanks for the offer. And the complement.

  11. In all honesty this was an incredible indepth post nevertheless as with most fantastic freelance writers there are several points that may be worked about. However in no way the particular much less it was stimulating.

  12. Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs much more consideration. I’ll probably be again to read much more, thanks for that info.

  13. I’m not sure exactly why but this site is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later
    and see if the problem still exists.
    [Most have said this loads fast. JFD]


Comments are closed.

