My Boiler-plate Text to Certain Comments

This is the response that I will give for some comments that seem to me to be “boiler-plate” or standard-form comments, easily copied and pasted. No effort involved. No character involved. Ditto. Ditto. Ditto.

I, JFD (author of this blog), have concluded that many comments are manufactured and offered to subscribers as quick and easy bundled copy-and-paste “boilerplate text” comments, as judged by the exact same language used by many different commenters. Am I right? Or are commenters copying comments of other commenters and pasting them as one way to save labor in commenting?

(1) I have no other social media, none of it but this blog. (A question often asked.)

Also, I use WordPress.com, which is FREE, and provides some beautiful themes to choose from, also FREE. I chose WordPress because I read that it was very highly rated by critics.

(2) I get that phrase, “brain dead”, a lot, as a comment on comments on my blog essays. I explain some cases as people not writing in their native language, which would explain some of the problems of diction. I am wholly inclined to understand and tolerate. Others, as I keep saying when I have responded to that comment elsewhere, are not careful with the grammar of English. It seems to me that the informality of web-talk gives a license to write like fugitives from their old ogre English teachers, so they slop through their comment-message with a devil-may-care vengeance! On the web, anything goes, they believe. I cannot forgive that. They are not brain dead; their brain has taken a long vacation from personal responsibility. Then, too, they probably are desperate to fit in like all the others who have a fear of putting on airs for fear of ostracism. OR, bad grammar is what you get from commenters who are in a hurry. The “slap-dash” response on the run. Okay. I get it. Yeah, if it is basically understandable. Better than nothing!

Think in depth what that “brain dead” accusation means. Take it seriously. The writer of it might really desire to read the best English style, as I do, and is offended by that tendency to lower standards of English diction. If that is the motive, it is admirable. There must be a craving for good diction on the web. Hooray! Punish bad diction wherever it is seen! (With that one proviso.)

But try to distinguish bad diction from “typos”! That is an order! My mistakes are nearly always typos. I try to correct them. All. Me no type too good. Well, then, I should re-read and make all corrections, as my duty. I know I have failed in that respect.

(You know what! This is sounding like it might be a part of a style guide for all would-be weblog writers. Eh?

I will now select and copy this and save it for the next one who says that thing about brain-dead contributors, my social media (nada, zilch, zero, nichts,). WHOOPEE! Now I never have to type this out ever again. Just select and paste. AH-h-h-h-h–yes! I SHOULD HAVE DONE THIS LONG AGO!

(3) “Brussels”. Anyone know what it is? The phrase shows up occasionally like an imbedded secret message to others of which I am innocent. I always erase it.

(4) Also, once in a while I get the comment that my blogs are RIFE (excessively abundant) with misspelled words. I might as well include my objection to that charge. There may be “typos” because I am a “hunt-and-peck-er”. But I am an excellent speller who uses the dictionary regularly. If you must make that charge, give one example when you make the charge, and where it occurs, or I’ll have you arrested for ___?____, maybe, wrongful conduct as a critic, whose duty is to make the criticism relate to the specific case.

I erase all comments that I judge to be an “advertisement”. Isn’t that called “spam”? Spam was served to me in the service. I think it was invented for service meals during WWII. Guess what? My dear Mom mailed me a box of treats when I was overseas in’45. In it was a can of Spam. The home-baked cookies arrived wrapped in wax paper ON TOP OF THE BOX, believe it! The flimsy suit box had been torn open by the rough handling. I wondered if any cookies had disappeared along the way, but it didn’t seem so, oh, maybe one or two. HONEST HANDLERS! Dear MOM!

Published in: on April 24, 2013 at 10:29 am  Comments (11)  

11 Comments

  1. Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more Now what if i told you there was a simple WordPress plugin that does all the On-Page SEO, and automatically for you? That’s right AUTOMATICALLY, just watch this 4minute video for more information at. Seo Plugin

    • (JFD says. Yes, I know, I know, I know,,,,,,BUT! And that is a big BUT! So many times I have been told!!!! I am not chasing GOOGLE page rank. Nor any other star in the sky. Am I being silly, in your eyes? Oh, yeah! I have my reasons not to. Thank you, truly, for your concern, which was enough to make you write such a long comment. You are to be praised for, in some way, watching out for me because I apparently do not have the moxie to watch out for myself. I shall continue to play the fool that you may think I am. Thank you for your effort. I will remain the fool who will miss out on any rewards from GOOGLE. I do it because I would have to go back and reconfigure all I have done, as well as to learn a new way of formatting my work. I have other time-consuming interests. That shall remain my plea. Thanks, again.)

  2. Somebody essentially lend a hand to make significantly posts I would state.
    This is the first time I frequented your website
    page and thus far? I amazed with the analysis you made
    to create this actual submit extraordinary.
    Great task!

  3. This internet internet site is my aspiration, quite exceptional style and style and Perfect topic matter.

  4. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too magnificent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what
    you are saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart.
    I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a great website.

  5. Hello, I desire to subscribe for this web site to obtain newest
    updates, therefore where can i do it please
    help.

    • You have to do that manually, I guess, each time you log on.

  6. My family members every time say that I am killing my time here at
    net, except I know I am getting familiarity all the time by reading such pleasant posts.

  7. Looking for ahead to reading extra from you in a while!? I’m usually to blogging and i really respect your content.

  8. I think so. I think your article will give those people a good reminding. And they will express thanks to you later

  9. Very useful info. Hope to see more posts soon!


Comments are closed.

