“Goose Bumps” — What? Why? Where? How? When?

I am going to try something here. I am going to try to define “goose bumps” without looking it up using the www-google resources. Afterwards, I will look it up using those resources to see how close I came to what is there on the WWW. I think in terms of the “operational definition”, what actually happens in a step-by-step sequence of physiological events, or the operations that produce an effect. That is my trained response to events. That is my habit. That is my understanding of science, of having a scientific approach to problems, and since I had the experience of “goose bumps” yesterday, July Fourth, 2013, I thought I would use that experience in this way, to demonstrate the operational definition, Just now I have no idea what I am going to write.

I experienced “goose bumps”. I had a perception that produced that phenomenon and immediately wondered about goose bumps, a strange feeling affecting the skin. I saw something that almost immediately went to my skin. I had not experienced goose bumps like that in a very long time. I must have had them before because I recognized them for what they were. My skin, it seemed all over my body, erupted with a reaction that created very small bumps all over, almost like an erection in and of the body skin especially all over the trunk of the body. And they sorta felt good.

Perception is defined as a response involving sensory and nonsensory components. I have this penchant for scientific ways of defining human responses to life’s situations, especially related to human verbal and nonverbal communication, that is, speech communication. I became convinced that the operational definition is the most reliable way of dealing with all concerns for humnan communication.

Remember, sensory components are the five exteroceptors that we have, taste, touch, smell, sight, and hearing, and the five interoceptors are pain, balance, pressure, temperature, and kinesis.

But there are also the non-sensory components in a perception that come from memory, past experience retained and effecting a quality to be attached to our present sensory experiences. You may have an experience for the first time for which there are no previous experiences as referents. In that case, you might doubt your experience, having no word for it as a portmanteau. But you want to name it, somehow. Think of young children at a loss for words.

Regarding my “goosebumps” experience, I saw something, a United States flag on a stick stuck in my yard on the morning of July Fourth. I wondered how it got there and immediately felt the goose bumps. I had no idea how it got there. I immediately made up a story, a covering cause. I thought that the American Legion came around and put flags on every home address of a Veteran. At that moment I got goose bumps, that excitation that shows up all over the skin.

What a strange response. It felt sorta good. I recognized it immediately and saw that cause. But which part of the cause caused the reaction. If by the American Legion, of which I am a member, then I immediately thought, “what an honor in recognition of my service”. So I went outdoors to look at the stick. I immediately looked to see who in the neighborhood the veterans were. Lo and behold, every home up and down the street had a flag. So I was immediately disillusioned. The note attached to the stick gave the address and picture of a realtor. I will sue for engendering false gooseflesh excitement. But before my disillusionment, that was a strange and very good feeling. I think it goes back to the time when we were all in the promordial soup with something like quills or feathers, like porcupines, sea otters. You tell me.

It is said to happen in moments of extreme arousal in such as experiences of strong emotions, fear, nostalgia, pleasure, euphoria, awe, admiration and sexual arousal (a h.o. of the skin, so to speak). My moment was filled with the pleasure of complement, or admiration.

I had a slight goosbump experience a long time ago when I was honored with a surprise dinner at my retirement from university teaching. That was the last time. This time I felt very odd when i saw the realtor’s note. VERY strange!

Here it is, the day after the fourth. It’s still there. I’ll go now and bring it in with negative pimples. The imploded kind, in reverse. And laugh at myself. For what I am. Vanity of vanities, all is vanity. (Ecclesiastes)

Thank you, Terry Carter, of Tear-y (my connotation) Carter Homes, for exposing to me myself, my vanity, in accomplishment. (I did enjoy the bumps.)

What fools these mortals be! (Puck) As I was fooled by the nonsensory components of my perception. Totally.

15 Comments

  1. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article!
    It’s the little changes which will make the most significant changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  2. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you!

    By the way, how can we communicate?

  3. fantastic post, very informative. I’m wondering why the other experts of this sector do not understand this. You must proceed your writing. I am sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!

  4. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you, However I am encountering troubles
    with your RSS. I don’t know why I am unable to join it.
    Is there anyone else getting identical RSS issues?
    Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanx!!
    [JFD (the author of this blog) says:
    Those technical questions are not for me to address.
    My know-how about such issues is above me to answer.
    I have never used RSS myself. Sorry. I hope someone
    will write a comment about that RSS problem, right here.]

  5. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you wish
    be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come
    further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield
    this increase.
    [A comment here by JFD, author/owner of this blog: This is an example
    of someone writing a comment who has a problem with writing in English,
    not her native language. However, she (Florencia Newcombe, as near as I can tell)
    is trying to write a positive comment. I can get the meaning in spite
    of the difficulty. The words are there. I give her much credit for the effort. Someone else
    might give her an insulting reaction. I see that often, but I understand.
    I appreciate the effort. Can’t you?]

  6. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.
    [JFD says: I visited your url-site. I found there the name Lan Jewett. The name “Jewett” is in my
    late wife’s family tree, her grandfather. How do you relate to the Jewetts of Illinois,
    USA?]

  7. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to
    be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely
    get annoyed while people think about worries that they just do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole
    thing without having side effect , people could take a signal.

    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  8. I simply couldn’t depart your web site prior to recommending which i incredibly liked the standard data somebody offer for your guests? Is likely to be backside usually in order to look at brand new content

  9. This site definitely has all of the information I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  10. First off I would like to say great blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing.
    I’ve had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Thank you!
    [JFD says: 10-15 minutes?! Does that do it for you? I ponder a lot, getting my mind around what there is to say/write. My mind’s gears are always working, turning over the theme, its title, its general content and purpose. Without that “pondering” I cannot do. Except when I sleep. And before I sleep, I am wondering about what I want to write. I am a bit bedeviled by my process of thinking. The whole forms that way. Enough form to get to the typing on the forms I have set up because I have clearly determined and said to myself, “I want to put that idea on my blog!” I have concluded that people may have heard that idea before, but I believe I have a slightly or even greatly different “slant” on the topic. You have to have that inner dialog with yourself covering all those questions of approaching the subject. It may even be a bit of arrogance to believe you can say it better than others have. YOU HAVE TO LIKE YOURSELF AS A WRITER AND BELIEVE. Haughty? Perhaps. First, I determine that I have not written on the present topic before. I seem to know that right away. I would not want to repeat myself, even though I believe it would come out differently. Few ideas are set in iron. But ideas do evolve, and you know how slow evolution is. I cannot help you concentrate. You have to have concentration as a strength of character, sustaining your attention over a good chunk of time. Maybe you are feeling your basic weaknesses for writing. You may not have the strengths of self discipline and concentration and the wealth of ideas needed for writing. It comes from your history of self-discipline and also the disciplines of your educational training. Wide reading? Deep thinking on the meanings of life, liberty, religion, health, self-control, politics, communication studies, and on and on? Actually, I could go on and on, but will stop here.]

  11. It’s not my first time to go to see this web page, i am browsing this site dailly and take pleasant information from here all the time.

  12. hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this site, as I experienced to reload the website lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will
    very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage
    your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I am adding this RSS to my email and can look
    out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content.
    Ensure that you update this again soon.

    • [JFD says: I do not chase after a quality score from GOOGLE.
      In fact, I do not know how Google affects me and my writing.
      I do not advertise anything. I care only to spread my views.
      The only profit is knowing that I helped some to a certain point of view.
      Seems sort of silly, doesn’t it? Maybe I should quit, as a
      not-for-profit blogger. If there were money involved,
      there would be a currency-index to my success. I’m just in it
      for the comments, it seems. Yeah, that’s silly. All that work!
      For what? I should just give it up. But I can’t see myself
      doing that.]

  13. It’s remarkable to visit this web site and reading the views of all mates concerning this piece of writing, while I am also zealous of getting knowledge.


Comments are closed.

